Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Supertramp
# Song Title   Time
1)    Surely More Info... 0:31
2)    It's A Long Road More Info... 5:34
3)    Aubade And I Am Not Like Other Birds Of Prey More Info... 5:17
4)    Words Unspoken More Info... 4:00
5)    Maybe I'm A Beggar More Info... 6:45
6)    Home Again More Info... 1:10
7)    Nothing To Show More Info... 4:54
8)    Shadow Song More Info... 4:24
9)    Try Again More Info... 12:03
10)    Surely Album Version More Info... 3:09
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This digitally remastered 10-track reissue of Canadian pop band Supertramp's debut release includes "Surely," "It's A Long Road," and "Home Again."
  • Personnel: Richard Palmer (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, balalaika); Roger Hodgson (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, cello, flageolet, keyboards, bass guitar); Rick Davies (vocals, harmonica, piano, electric piano, organ, keyboards); Robert Millar (harmonica, percussion); Bob Miller (drums).
  • Recording information: Morgan Sound Studios.
  • Progressive in texture for the most part, Supertramp's debut album became increasingly disregarded as they blossomed commercially through the '70s. The album was the only one on which drummer Bob Miller and guitarist Richard Palmer appeared, replaced by Kevin Currie and Frank Farrell for the Indelibly Stamped release which surfaced a year later. Quite a bit different than their radio and AOR material, Supertramp is inundated with pretentious instrumental meandering, with greater emphasis and attention granted to the keyboards and guitars than to the writing and to the overall effluence of the music. There are some attractive moments, such as the mixture of ardor and subtlety that arises in "Words Unspoken," "Surely," and "Nothing to Show," and some of the fusion that erupts throughout the 12 minutes of "Try Again" is impressive even though the whole of the track results in one of the most extravagant and overblown pieces the band has ever produced. Hodgson's use of cello, flageolet, and acoustic guitar is endearing in spots, and while both he and Davies had just recently formed their alliance, it was evident that their songwriting was going to be one of the band's strengths. Ultimately dissatisfied with the results of the album, they retorted with Indelibly Stamped, which disappointingly followed suit. It wasn't until 1974's Crime of the Century that things began to improve for Supertramp, when they replaced Farrell and Currie with saxman John Helliwell, bass player Dougie Thompson, and drummer Bob Benberg. ~ Mike DeGagne
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Supertramp on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top