Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Surtur Rising [Digipak]

Album: Surtur Rising [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    War of the Gods
2)    T”cks's Taunt/Loke's Treachery [Pt. 2]
3)    Destroyer of the Universe
4)    Slaves of Fear
5)    Live Without Regrets
6)    Last Stand of Frej, The
7)    For Victory or Death
8)    Wrath of the Norsemen
9)    Beast Am I, A
10)    Doom Over Dead Man
1)    Ride For Vengeance
2)    Dragons' Flight Across the Waves, The
3)    Without Fear
4)    Victorious March
5)    Friends of the Suncross
6)    Abandoned
7)    Amon Amarth
8)    Once Sent From the Golden Hall
9)    Bleed For Ancient Gods
10)    Last With Pagan Blood, The
11)    North Sea Storm
12)    Avenger
13)    God, His Son and Holy Whore
14)    Metalwrath
15)    Legend of a Banished Man
16)    Bastards of a Lying Breed
17)    Masters of War
18)    Sound of Eight Hooves, The
19)    Risen From the Sea
20)    As Long As the Raven Flies
21)    Fury Divine, A
22)    Annihilation of Hammerfest
23)    Fall Through Ginnungagap, The
24)    Releasing Surtur's Fire
25)    Death In Fire
26)    For the Stabwounds In Our Backs
27)    Where Silent Gods Stand Guard
28)    Versus the World
29)    Across the Rainbow Bridge
30)    Down the Slopes of Death
31)    Thousand Years of Oppression
32)    Bloodshed
33)    And Soon the World Will Cease To Be
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Johan Hegg (vocals); Johan S”derberg, Olavi Mikkonen (guitar); Fredrik Andersson (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Jens Bogren.
  • Recording information: Park Studio (12/28/2008-12/31/2008); Zeche Bochum, Germany (12/28/2008-12/31/2008).
  • Animation: Vitali Geyer.
  • Directors: Ronald Matthes; Lukas Hambach; Levent Szen.
  • Editors: Lukas Hambach; Levent Szen.
  • Photographers: Steve Brown ; Florian Krapp.
  • Arranger: Amon Amarth.
  • Amon Amarth's eighth full-length album is an important one in their discography, because it follows their breakthrough disc, 2008's Twilight of the Thunder God. That album, laden with guest appearances (Children of Bodom's Roopi Latvala, Entombed's LG Petrov, the cellists of Apocalyptica), was the Swedish band's most elaborate and powerful statement to date. Shockingly, on Surtur Rising they haven't fallen short of the mark they set for themselves three years earlier. The album's ten songs are typical anthemic Amon Amarth tracks, built for headbanging and chanting along with the powerful, warrior's-code choruses. Some, like "Destroyers of the Universe" and "War of the Gods," but particularly "A Beast Am I," are among the fastest songs the group has ever recorded, while others, like "T”ck's Taunt: Loke's Treachery, Pt. II" and "The Last Stand of Frej," are slow, even brooding. The production has a bit more aggression than Twilight had, but the songs are arguably even catchier this time out, with some surprisingly clean guitar leads and atmospheric melodies emerging from the hair-spinning roar. A few subtle production flourishes -- the sounds of clashing swords on "War of the Gods" and crying ravens on "T”ck's Taunt," plus some strings on "For Victory or Death" and the album-closing "Doom Over Dead Man" -- bolster the sound somewhat, but other than that it's up to the five members of Amon Amarth to keep the listener happy with nothing but guitars, bass, drums, and Johan Hegg's barrel-chested roars, and they do that with admirable skill. They're one of the most consistent bands in metal, and this is a terrific example of them playing to their strengths. ~ Phil Freeman
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Surtur Rising [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top