Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Sweet Dreams: The Anthology

Album: Sweet Dreams: The Anthology
# Song Title   Time
1)    Baltimore - (previously unreleased)
2)    Black Autumn - (previously unreleased)
3)    Story of Isaac, The - (previously unreleased)
4)    There'll Always Be - (previously unreleased)
5)    Sweet Dreams
6)    Pete's Blues
7)    Messiah Will Come Again, The
8)    Tribute to Elmore James
9)    After Hours
10)    Five String Blues
11)    C.C. Rider - (previously unreleased)
12)    My Baby Says She's Gonna Leave Me
13)    Please Don't Turn Me Away
14)    Country Preacher
15)    Wayfaring Pilgrim
1)    Down by the River - (previously unreleased)
2)    I'm a Ram
3)    I'm Evil
4)    Good God Have Mercy
5)    If 6 Was 9
6)    Green Onions
7)    Soul Dressing - (previously unreleased)
8)    Hey Joe - (previously unreleased)
9)    Fly...Night Bird
10)    Turn to Stone
11)    Dual Soliloquy - (previously unreleased)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Among the many rarities on this 2-CD set are 4 tracks from THE PROPHET (Buchanan's unreleased 1st LP) and a lengthy, previously-unreleased, live version of Neil Young's "Down By The River."
  • Personnel: Roy Buchanan (vocals, guitar); Charlie Daniels (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Billy Price Keystone Rhythm Band (vocals, background vocals); Steve Cropper (guitar); Ray Gomez (acoustic guitar); Dick Heintze, Bob Wilson, Malcolm Lukens, Jean Roussel, Neil Larsen (keyboards); Gonzalo Sifre, Ned Davis, Gerry Mercer, Andy Newmark, Bill Stewart , Karl Himmel, Byrd Foster, Robbie Magruder (drums); Ernie Winfrey (timpani, percussion); John Harrison (background vocals).
  • Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
  • Recording information: Amazing Grace Club, Evanston, IL; Atlanti; Electric Lady, NY; Marquee Club, London, England; Media Sound, NY; Record Plant, New York, NY; Town Hall, New York, NY; Woodland Studios, Nashville, TN.
  • Photographers: Jim Marshall ; David Gahr; Michael Putland.
  • Arranger: Neil Larsen.
  • This substantial two-disc Polydor set culls some of the finest cuts from Buchanan's '70s recordings for a retrospective of his early career. The master guitarist's facility with mid-tempo grooves ("Baltimore"), steamy slow blues ("After Hours"), hard-driving rockers ("My Baby Says She's Going To Leave Me"), slide workouts ("Tribute To Elmore James"), revamped covers ("Hey Joe," "Down By The River," "Green Onions"), and evocative instrumentals (the title cut) is fully in evidence here.
  • Though Buch hadn't yet developed the mercurial, tone-manipulating style that would characterize his work in the '80s and '90s, his fluid runs, scratches, wails, screeching harmonics, and his utter command of the blues guitar vocabulary place him head and shoulders above even the better-than-better six-string slingers of the time. Though the general mood of SWEET DREAMS is somewhat more subdued than many of Buch's dates (with more of an emphasis on slow blues and ballads), the backing musicians lend keen, rugged support to the wizard's flights of fancy, particularly on the set's six live cuts. SWEET DREAMS is the most comprehensive and compelling overview of Buchanan's early work available.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sweet Dreams: The Anthology on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top