Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Sweet Saxations

Album: Sweet Saxations
# Song Title   Time
1)    Emerald Eyes
2)    Fly Away With Me
3)    Amber Skies
4)    You Don't Know My Name
5)    Temperature's Rising
6)    Uptown
7)    I'm Playing for Keeps
8)    Sweet Saxations
9)    Tequila Nights
10)    Kiss to Remember, A
11)    Seduction, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Pamela Williams (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, keyboards, drum programming, background vocals); Pamela Williams (programming); Philip Hamilton, Bernd Schoenhart (guitar); David Mann (keyboards, programming, drum programming); Gail Jhonson (keyboards); Dave Darlington (programming, drum programming); Precious Iglesias (background vocals); Mike Sims, Carl Burnett (guitar); Kim Waters (keyboards).
  • Audio Mixers: David Mann ; Dave Darlington.
  • Liner Note Author: Pamela Williams.
  • Recording information: Saxtress Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Studio 107, NY.
  • Photographer: Anthony Barboza.
  • In the 21st century, commercial adult contemporary/smooth jazz radio stations continue to emphasize that which is familiar -- actually, they emphasize the overly familiar, making certain that they steer clear of anything that is the least bit experimental. That's why Pamela Williams and countless others are so predictable and formulaic; they know that taking risks is a good way to alienate adult contemporary programmers. Nonetheless, some of Williams' albums are better than others -- and while Sweet Saxations isn't very memorable, it isn't terrible either. The Kenny G.-isms that were part of the picture on some of the saxophonist's Heads Up recordings of the '90s aren't much of a factor on this early 2005 release; outright elevator music is excluded, and Williams' duskier, more R&B-ish side prevails. One could say that Sweet Saxations finds Williams in a Grover Washington, Jr.-influenced state of mind -- minus Mr. Magic's sense of adventure and spirit of improvisation. The distinctive Washington, for all his commercialism, was a highly imaginative improviser; Sweet Saxations is full of Washington-influenced grooves, but Williams (who sticks to the alto and soprano saxes and doesn't play any tenor this time) is careful to avoid improvisation. Williams does what Najee and the late George Howard -- two people she has often been compared to -- have often done: she goes on automatic pilot and reduces Washington's sound to a formula. The grooves are catchy enough, but Williams' solos never really go anywhere. One track that tells you a lot about this album is a version of Alicia Keys' 2003 hit "You Don't Know My Name"; instead of interpreting the neo-soul gem and making a personal statement, Williams simply offers a note-for-note cover. Sweet Saxations is far from the worst of the mid-'00 smooth jazz releases, but Williams is capable of much more. ~ Alex Henderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sweet Saxations on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top