Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Swing 39

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Guitar

Swing 39

Artist: Django Reinhardt

This item is no longer available.

We will email you if this item comes back into stock.

Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Emarcy (USA)
Album: Swing 39
# Song Title   Time
1)    Jeepers Creepers Instrumental More Info... 3:15
2)    Jeepers Creepers Take 2 More Info... 3:15
3)    Swing 39 Instrumental More Info... 3:20
4)    Japanese Sandman Instrumental More Info... 2:41
5)    I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight Instrumental More Info... 3:03
6)    I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight Take 2 More Info... 3:09
7)    Tea For Two Instrumental More Info... 2:52
8)    Tea For Two Take 2 More Info... 2:53
9)    My Melancholy Baby Instrumental More Info... 3:23
10)    Time On My Hands Instrumental More Info... 2:42
11)    Twelfth Year Instrumental More Info... 2:39
12)    Twelfth Year Take 2 More Info... 2:41
13)    My Melancholy Baby Take 2 More Info... 2:49
14)    Japanese Sandman Take 2 More Info... 3:08
15)    Tea For Two Take 3 More Info... 3:15
16)    I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight Take 3 More Info... 2:47
17)    Hungaria Take 3 More Info... 2:46

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Django Reinhardt, Joseph Reinhardt, Pierre "Barro" Ferret (guitar); Stephane Grappelli (violin); Emmanuel Soudieux (double bass).
  • Reissue producer: Francois Le Xuan.
  • Recorded at Polydor Studios, Paris, France on March 21, 1939. Includes liner notes by Alain Tercinet.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • This is part of Verve's Jazz In Paris series.
  • In 2005, the Pegasus label released Swing 39, a chronologically scrambled Django Reinhardt collection that paints an accurate portrait of this accomplished improviser using 36 recordings he made during the years 1935-1950. The title Swing 39 should not be taken as an indicator of the exact vintage of the contents. Only about three titles are verifiably traceable to the year 1939; in fact, Reinhardt is known to have recorded four different versions of "Swing '39," three each of "Swing '41" and "Swing '42," and one take of "Swing '48," and furthermore, these titles seldom indicated the exact year during which each piece was recorded. Django Reinhardt's voluminous recorded legacy is an intricate and surprisingly complex entity; unfortunately, a mixed-up sampler like this does virtually nothing for those who are trying to figure it out for themselves. What it does offer is a pleasant selection of well-played studies in Parisian Gypsy swing, and it is recommended for those who want a set of general impressions without any context whatsoever. ~ arwulf arwulf

Format:CD (1 Disc)
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:9 April, 2007
Guest Artist: Stephane Grappelli
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches

This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.