Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

System of a Down [Parental Advisory]

Album: System of a Down
# Song Title   Time
1)    Suite-Pee
2)    Know
3)    Sugar
4)    Suggestions
5)    Spiders
6)    Ddevil
7)    Soil
8)    War?
9)    Mind
10)    Peephole
11)    Cubert
12)    Darts
13)    P.L.U.C.K.
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • System Of A Down: Serj Tankian (vocals, keyboards, samples); Daron Malakian (guitar, background vocals); Shavo Odadjian (bass); John Dolmayan (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Rick Rubin (piano).
  • Principally recorded at Sound City, Van Nuys, California.
  • Personnel: Serj Tankian (vocals, keyboards, sampler); Daron Malakian (guitar, background vocals); Rick Rubin (piano); John Dolmayan (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Dave Sardy.
  • Recording information: Akademie Mathematique of Philosophical Sound Research,; Sound City Studios, Van Nuys, CA.
  • Photographer: Anthony Artiaga.
  • System of a Down sees itself as being an integral part of a new musical revolution of heavy music. On the surface, the band's manifesto seems tangential to Rage Against the Machine's; but musically SOAD is a groove-metal machine, with a sound that incorporates a punk ethic, Panteraesque riffs, and a schizophrenic vocal approach reminiscent of Mike Patton.
  • Like a dose of chicken soup for a disconnected moshing youth, SYSTEM OF A DOWN is unrelenting. "Sugar" segues from neo-jazz verses into pounding thrash-core choruses. "Spiders" shows more depth, dynamics, and even poetic, melodic vocals. The production of the album is raw and very close to that of a live album, surely a deliberate stroke by producer Rick Rubin (who has put many metal bands on the map under his guidance). On "Soil," vocalist Serj Tankian questions the ideology of democracy. With possibly more conspiracy theories than an episode of THE X-FILES, System of a Down explores the concept of mass influence through technology in "War?" The essence of SYSTEM OF A DOWN can be found in "P.L.U.C.K"; the song's title says it all, an acronym for "politically lying, unholy, cowardly killers."
Professional Reviews
Q (10/01, p.152) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...This remains an excellent starting point for this most curious and underrated of bands..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling System of a Down on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top