Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Take Off and Landing of Everything

Album: The Take Off and Landing of Everything
# Song Title   Time
1)    This Blue World
2)    Charge
3)    Fly Boy Blue/Lunette
4)    New York Morning
5)    Real Life (Angel)
6)    Honey Sun
7)    My Sad Captains
8)    Colour Fields
9)    Take Off and Landing of Everything, The
10)    Blanket of Night, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Lyricist: Guy Garvey.
  • Personnel: Guy Garvey (vocals); Mark Potter (guitar); Craig Potter (keyboards); Richard Jupp (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Craig Potter.
  • Recording information: Blueprint Studios, Salford; Elbow Rooms; Real World Studios Box.
  • Photographer: Mark Thomas .
  • Elbow recorded their sixth album at Real World Studios, making the connection between themselves and Peter Gabriel plain. Much of this connection comes from the husky, subdued rasp of lead singer Guy Garvey, but the band on a whole favors a similar kind of accessible art rock where the textures are lucid yet elliptical while the songs are sturdy and melodic, wearing their accouterments well. This blend helped make 2011's Build a Rocket Boys! into a sizable hit in their native Britain and throughout Europe, but The Take Off and Landing of Everything is better still, demonstrating that the band knows how to seize the spoils of success. This assurance -- relaxed and deliberate, confident enough to play up both melodies and cool, echoing abstractions in the production -- belies how much of the album was written in the wake of the dissolution of Garvey's long-term romantic relationship, but The Take Off isn't strictly a breakup album. Rather, it's a record of coming to term with middle age, finding that there is a birth that accompanies every death, joy to balance the sorrow, an understanding that comes with acceptance. Garvey conveys these issues in his lyrics but, as a band, Elbow reflect this comfortable reckoning with their own nature, letting sadness creep at the edges but favoring a warm, enveloping melancholy that turns the album into a soundtrack for healing, not wallowing. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Paste (magazine) - "On THE TAKE OFF., Elbow gives the songs the room and space to breathe, to consider their contradictions and sometimes even mutate halfway through."

Pitchfork (Website) - "The contorted syncopation and signature-twiddling of 'Charge' -- as well as its thick keys and dehydrated guitar -- establish some real counterpoint and tension..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Brit Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Take Off and Landing of Everything on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top