Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Taste Of Tg

Album: Taste Of Tg: A Beginners Guide To The Music Of Throbbing Gristle
# Song Title   Time
1)    Industrial Introduction
2)    Distant Dreams Pt. 2
3)    Persuasion U.S.A.
4)    Something Came Over Me
5)    Dead on Arrival
6)    Hot on the Heels of Love
7)    We Hate You (Little Girls)
8)    United
9)    Cabaret Voltaire
10)    Exotic Functions
11)    Zyklon B Zombie
12)    Walkabout
13)    Hamburger Lady
14)    His Arm Was Her Leg
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Throbbing Gristle: Genesis P-Orridge, Cosey Fanni Tutti, Peter "Sleazy" Cristopherson, Chris Carter.
  • During their brief career, Throbbing Gristle moved through several different styles, from dark soundscapes to clubby dance grooves, and because of this they have confused fans over the years. The latest attempt to explain TG in a succinct bite-size package is The Taste of TG, which bills itself as a beginner's guide. It doesn't do much different than the other compilations that have come before, and it lacks the liner notes that would contextualize the proceedings. However, the dark clouds of their electronic mayhem are here, with highlights like the confusion of "Persuasion U.S.A.," the swirling psychedelia of "His Arm Was Her Leg," and the seductive horror of "Hamburger Lady." The few stabs that TG made at pop music (at least musically, as their subject matter was routinely dark) are here as well, with "Hot On the Heels of Love," "What a Day," and "United." And as far as the lack of notes goes, well, that's just part of the Throbbing Gristle mystique. Perhaps the best taste of TG is curling up with a copy of the book about their exploits, Wreckers of Civilization, and putting this CD on repeat as the soundtrack. ~ Wade Kergan
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.101) - 5 stars out of 5 - "Here, new fans will find a surprising blend of chromium-clean proto-synth-pop interspersed with filthily radioactive, elongated bursts of noise..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top