Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Test for Echo [Remaster]

Album: Test for Echo [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Test for Echo
2)    Driven
3)    Half the World
4)    Color of Right, The
5)    Time and Motion
6)    Totem
7)    Dog Years
8)    Virtuality
9)    Resist
10)    Limbo
11)    Carve Away the Stone
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Rush: Geddy Lee (vocals, synthesizer, bass); Alex Lifeson (acoustic & electric guitars, mandola); Neil Peart (drums, hammered dulcimer).
  • Recorded at Bearsville Studios, Bearsville, New York and Reaction Studios, Toronto, Canada from January to March 1996.
  • Rush: Geddy Lee (vocals, synthesizer, bass guitar); Alex Lifeson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandola); Neil Peart (hammer dulcimer, drums, cymbals).
  • In 20-plus years together, Rush has rarely varied from its basic formula--two parts musical chops, one part lyrical smarts, and one more part musical chops. This power trio knows its strengths. Drummer Neil Peart writes intelligent lyrics here about global subjects ranging from the Internet ("Virtuality") to comparative religion ("Totem"). But it keeps coming back to the trio's musical interplay, and Rush's ever-ready willingness to experiment with it. Alex Lifeson adds a nice touch to "Half The World" with a mandola, while Geddy Lee's synthesizer flourishes and off-kilter rhythm on "Time And Motion" are vintage Rush.
  • The most exciting demonstration of Rush's group synchronicity is on the instrumental "Limbo." It starts with the sounds of clinking chains and a bubbling cauldron, before charging forward--occasionally soaring--on waves of guitar, synth and disembodied voices (including a sample from "The Monster Mash"). This is the sound of an intellectual band smart enough not to take itself too seriously.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (10/04/96, p.62) - "...by clearly out-funking the likes of Yes and ELP, Rush prove, at long last, that art rock needn't be lethal."

- Rating: B

Mojo (Publisher) (p.122) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[The album] witnessed the re-birth of Rush as a hard rock band....There's a warmth here that had long been missing from Rush's work."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Test for Echo [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top