Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

That Old Mercer Magic

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: That Old Mercer Magic
# Song Title   Time
1)    Spring, Spring, Spring
2)    You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby
3)    Jeepers Creepers
4)    My Shining Hour
5)    Ac-Cent-U-Ate the Positive
6)    Dream
7)    I'm Old Fashioned
8)    Riding on the Moon
9)    Moon River/Moon Country
10)    Have You Got Any Castles Baby?
11)    Too Marvelous for Words
12)    Dance of Life, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Janis Siegel, Laurel Mass‚ (vocals); David Finck (guitar, acoustic bass); Frank Vignola (guitar); Aaron Weinstein (mandolin, violin); Sara Caswell (violin); Margot Leverett (clarinet); Lew Soloff (trumpet); Yaron Gershovsky (piano); Matt Wilson (drums); Rich "Dusty Chopmeat" Zukor (djembe); Eric Elterman (hand claps).
  • Audio Mixer: Fran Cathcart.
  • Recording information: East Side Sound.
  • Arrangers: David Finck; Frank Vignola; Janis Siegel; Laurel Mass‚; Yaron Gershovsky; Aaron Weinstein.
  • Janis Siegel has done a fair amount of recording away from the Manhattan Transfer during her decades-long tenure with the vocal group, but this a rare opportunity to hear her with other vocalists outside of it. JaLaLa, featured on four selections, includes Laurel Mass‚ and Lauren Kinhan on vocals, with each singer leading individual selections.; the core group of musicians includes pianist Yaron Gershovsky, bassist David Finck, guitarist Frank Vignola, and drummer Matt Wilson, with guests added or substituted on some pieces. The songs selected from Johnny Mercer's vast output include both still-popular standards and obscurities, with the supporting cast varying from one track to the next. All three vocalists join forces for a fun-filled romp through "Ac-Cent-U-Ate the Positive" and the neglected "Spring Spring Spring," both of which add pedal steel guitarist Cindy Cashdollar. Siegel handles both "Jeepers Creepers" and "Too Marvelous for Words" effortlessly. Kinhan shines in the breezy bossa nova setting of "My Shining Hour," while Mass‚ delivers a warm "Moon River" which is joined in a medley with the less familiar "Moon Country," a sauntering chart that features JaLaLa. Only the lame setting of "You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby," saddled with the inane antics of DJ Sugarkone and a bland groove, proves disappointing. ~ Ken Dryden
Professional Reviews
Down Beat (p.79) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[With] a nostalgic sense of hip, marrying finger-snapping swing with a champagne cosmopolitanism reminiscent of penthouse-set Hollywood musicals from the 1930s."

JazzTimes (p.63) - "[T]heir 'Dream' suggest the silken purity of the Pied Pipers,' and their sun-splattered 'Spring, Spring, Spring' playfully hints at the McGuire Sisters' brand of sugary pop."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » Show Vocals
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling That Old Mercer Magic on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top