Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

There Were Seven

Album: There Were Seven
# Song Title   Time
1)    Return of the Seven
2)    Lost Boy, The - (featuring Hannah Clive)
3)    Welcome to Extravagance
4)    Mother Dove
5)    Zero Hill - (featuring Twin Peaks)
6)    Take 'Em On
7)    Sad State of Affairs, A - (featuring George the Poet)
8)    Setting Up
9)    Crimes and Misdemeanours - (featuring Twin Peaks)
10)    What You Asked For
11)    March of the Dead Things (Night of the Necromantics) - (featuring Teenburger)
12)    Deep in the Woods
13)    Inside the Machine
14)    Danny Glover - (featuring Twin Peaks)
15)    Move as One
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: The Herbaliser (programming); Jake Wherry (guitar, keyboards); Ollie Teeba (keyboards, drum programming, scratches).
  • Audio Mixer: No Sleep Nigel.
  • Recording information: The Herbgarden.
  • Illustrator: Openmind.
  • Photographer: Matt Humphrey.
  • Arranger: The Herbaliser.
  • Noir films and their soundtracks didn't exist at the same time as funk music, and both pre-dated hip-hop, but blending them all into a natural-sounding mix is where the Herbaliser's Jake Wherry and Ollie Teeba got their start, soul-jazzing up the trip-hop movement and helping define the Ninja Tune label's sound, all in the mid-90s. By 2005's Take London they had evolved from studio wizards into an organic band with horns and guitars wacka-wacka-ing their way into jam band territory with style, but by 2008's Same as It Never Was the whole plot had gone Zero 7, leaving production heads and loyal fans the only ones really "feeling it." With a live band back, and playing beats that are Humphrey Bogart hanging out with the Roots, There Were Seven (as this is the seventh Herbaliser album) gloriously splits the difference for an impossible neo-noir, boogie-downtown production that captures the feel of heartbreak in the most tasteful of loft spaces (vocalist Hannah Clive burns the house of love down with her torch singing on the Thievery Corp.-ish "The Lost Boy"), or pimps drag racing in stunning Studebakers (check the closing "Move as One" for a winning mix of Mancini, Mandrill, and Madlib). The timeless cool and moody weirdness of the David Lynch series Twin Peaks is a touchstone if you add blaxploitation beats to the mix, and as luck would have it, the Canadian rap duo Twin Peaks -- MCs Muneshine and Ghettosocks -- winds up the album's popular MVP candidate, offering lean rhymes and abstract punch lines on all three of their cuts with "Danny Glover" ("I'm so wise, I won't forget this/Like Danny Glover, I'm getting too old for this shit") being the one where they absolutely kill it. At 15 tracks, it's a bit too full for newcomers to take in one go, but by mixing the strongest bits of their early days (song structure, smoky attitude) and their later years (technically gifted musicians who form a tight, but swinging band) the Herbaliser return to greatness and no fan should sit this one out. ~ David Jeffries
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » Funk
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling There Were Seven on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top