Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Time Travel [Digipak]

Album: Time Travel [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Bridge to Nowhere
2)    Time Travel
3)    Law of Historical Memory
4)    Beware of Doug
5)    Little Feet
6)    Garden State
7)    Pigeon and the Pie, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Dave Douglas (trumpet); Jon Irabagon (tenor saxophone); Matt Mitchell (piano); Rudy Royston (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Joe Ferla.
  • Liner Note Author: David R. Adler.
  • Recording information: Avatar Studios, New York City, NY (04/16/2012-04/16/2012).
  • Photographer: Austin Nelson.
  • Working with the same quintet that delivered his 2012 album Be Still, trumpeter Dave Douglas returns to a more straight-ahead, if no less adventurous, jazz style with 2013's Time Travel. Once again joining Douglas here are his bandmates saxophonist Jon Irabagon, pianist Matt Mitchell, bassist Linda Oh, and drummer Rudy Royston. Absent is vocalist Aoife O'Donovan, who was the focal point of Be Still's hymn, folk song, and ballads approach. Here, Douglas is interested in a more angular post-bop sound that, while still evincing a modern creative vibe, fits more squarely into the jazz tradition than Be Still. Which isn't to say this album is staid by any means. On the contrary, Douglas has penned a handful of harmonically challenging pieces that mix the knotty, rambunctious angularity of Thelonious Monk with the expansive impressionist modalism of '60s Miles Davis. The album also brings to mind the similarly inclined '80s work of Wynton Marsalis, like 1985's Black Codes (From the Underground) and 1986's J Mood. Cuts like the swinging midtempo opener "Bridge to Nowhere" and the ruminative, fractured title track showcase Douglas' group-oriented aesthetic that makes room for both extended solo improvisations and some layered, call-and-response interplay between the bandmembers. This group vibe is carried throughout the album on such tracks as the introspective ballad "Law of Historical Memory" and the roiling, hard-driving ode to Douglas' home state of New Jersey, "Garden State." Fans of Douglas' more country and folk song leanings will also be happy to find that he still digs his hands into the proverbial dirt with the bluesy Americana of "Beware of Doug" and the lullaby-sounding "Little Feet." While Douglas has made his mark delving into various genre-crossing projects that often skirt the edges of hardcore improvisatory jazz, with Time Travel he has found just as much room to explore within a world of jazz possibilities. ~ Matt Collar
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Trumpet
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Time Travel [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top