COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

Ton-Ton Macoute!


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Johnny Jenkins (vocals, guitar, harmonica, foot tapping); Duane Allman (guitar, slide guitar, dobro); Paul Hornsby (guitar, piano, Wurlitzer piano, Hammond B-3 organ); Pete Carr (electric & acoustic guitar); Jimmy Nalls (guitar); Robert "Pops" Popwell (bass, timbales, shaker, woodblocks); Berry Oakley (bass); Butch Trucks, Johnny Sandlin (drums); Johnny Wyker (shaker, woodblocks); Jaimoe (timbales); Eddie Hinton (cowbell); Tippy Armstrong (cabasa); Southern Comfort, Ella Brown (background vocals).
  • Engineers: Johnny Sandlin, Jim Hawkins, Tommy Compton, Jimmy Johnson, Larry Hamby, Terry Manning, Rick Hall.
  • Recorded at Capricorn Studios, Macon, Georgia; Fame Studio B, Muscle Shoals, Alabama between 1969-70. Originally released on Capricorn Record Series/Atco SD 33-331. Includes liner notes by Johnny Sandlin.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
  • Personnel: Johnny Jenkins (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Ella Brown, Southern Comfort (vocals, background vocals); Pete Carr (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Duane Allman (guitar, slide guitar, dobro); Paul Hornsby (guitar, piano, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards); Jimmy Nalls (guitar); Johnny Sandlin, Butch Trucks (drums); Eddie Hinton (cowbells, percussion); Robert "Pops" Popwell (shaker, timbales, wood block); Johnny Wyker (shaker, wood block, percussion); Jaimoe (timbales, percussion); Tippy Armstrong (percussion).
  • Audio Remixers: Johnny Sandlin; Jeff Coppage.
  • Liner Note Author: Johnny Sandlin.
  • Recording information: Capricorn Studios, Macon, GA; Fame Studio B, Sheffield, AL; Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, Muscle Shoals, AL.
  • Photographer: Jimmy Roberts.
  • Johnny Jenkins' Ton-Ton Macoute is a fine bowl of Southern gumbo. Aided and abetted by the likes of Duane Allman (this started as an Allman solo disc, but when he formed the Allman Brothers Band, Jenkins put his vocals over the tracks best suited), Dickey Betts, and those great guys from Muscle Shoals, Jenkins cooks on such cuts as "Down Along the Cove" from the pen of Bob Dylan, and Muddy Waters' "Rollin' Stone." But it is Dr. John's "I Walk on Guilded Splinters" which shines here and is the one which folks will recognize as the basis for Beck's hit "Loser." On the slippery "Blind Bats & Swamp Rats" you can almost feel the heat and humidity rolling out of the bayou. This reissue also includes the mighty fine bonus cuts "I Don't Want No Woman" and "My Love Will Never Die." Great Southern funk & roll for the discerning listener. It even includes educational liner notes which tell the tale behind each cut. ~ James Chrispell
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Ton-Ton Macoute! on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top