Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Tongues and Tails

Album: Tongues and Tails
# Song Title   Time
1)    Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover
2)    California, Here I Come
3)    Mysteries We Understand
4)    Saviour Child
5)    Carry Me
6)    I Want You
7)    Before I Walk on Fire
8)    We Are One Body
9)    Listen
10)    Live and Let Love
11)    Don't Stop Swaying
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Sophie B. Hawkins (vocals, keyboards); Roger Greenwalt (acoustic 12-string guitar); Eric Bazilian, Rick DiFonzo, Gary Lucas (guitar); Fred Zlotkin (cello); Ralph Schuckett, Peter Wood (keyboards); Mark Egan (bass); Omar Hakim (drums); Mino Cinelu, Cafe (percussion); Sammy Merendino (programming).
  • Engineers include: Steve Churchyard, John Agnello, Stewart Lerman.
  • Recorded at Electric Lady Studios and Messina Music, New York City.
  • Personnel: Sophie B. Hawkins (vocals, keyboards); Eric Bazilian, Gary Lucas , Rick DiFonzo (guitar); Roger Greenawalt (12-string guitar); Frederick Zlotkin (cello); Ralph Schuckett (keyboards); Peter Wood (synthesizer); Omar Hakim (drums); Mino Cinelu, Caf‚ (percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: David Leonard ; Steve Churchyard.
  • Recording information: Electric Lady Studios, New York, NY; Messina Music, New York, NY.
  • A New York eccentric type, Sophie B. Hawkins began her music career studying ethnic percussion. She moved to jazz, then was a drummer in a punk band while sidelining as an actor and performance artist. Hawkins' debut disc Tongues and Tails is as eclectic as her career choices. The songs ranges from the hook-filled mainstream pop of "Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover" to an off-center rant about mothers in "Carry Me" that dissolves into feedback mayhem. Hawkins stitches together bits of jazz, folk, tribal, rock, and atmospheric new age noodling while efficiently camouflaging the seams. Somehow, it all works with repeated listens. The common thread is her distinctive, streetwise but unjaded voice. ~ Roch Parisien
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (5/28/92, p.53) - 3 Stars - Good - "...Hawkins's voice varies from wail to plead, growl to whisper, croon to chirp, Joni Mitchell to Bjork of the Sugarcubes....a searching, seductive debut..."

Q (9/92, p.74) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...Her selling point is a general air of sensual desire....nudges originality while remaining rooted in the traditional pop/rock constructions of chart-toppers past and present..."

Q (12/94, p.165) - 3 Stars - Good - "...pretty one-track, but impassioned...On the way, presumably, to finding her own voice, amid a rich stew of synthesized orchestras and street sounds she sings variously like Madonna, Kate Bush and Polly Harvey..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Tongues and Tails on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top