How does Fishpond Work?

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Album: Tribute to Stephane Grappelli
# Song Title   Time
1)    Valseuses, Les
2)    I Got Rhythm
3)    Nuages
4)    Barbizon Blues
5)    All The Things You Are
6)    My One And Only Love
7)    Kid
8)    Someday My Prince Will Come
9)    Minor Swing
10)    Misty
11)    Paint Up My House
12)    Tears
13)    In A Sentimental Mood
14)    Beautiful Mood
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Didier Lockwood (violin); Bireli Lagrene (guitar); Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen (acoustic bass).
  • Engineers: Franck Seguin, Serge Babkine, Didier Lockwood.
  • Recorded at Studio De La Foret, France from December 7-9, 1999. Includes liner notes by Didier Lockwood.
  • Violinist Didier Lockwood tackled a formidable task by dedicating an entire CD to the legendary violinist Stephane Grappelli, who died just shy of his 90th birthday in December, 1997. Although Grappelli's influence on his playing is obvious at times, he is no carbon copy. He generally has a darker tone and doesn't use nearly as many up-tempo runs. With two brilliant partners, bassist Niels Pedersen (who worked with Grappelli on a few dates) and guitarist Birelli Lagrene, Lockwood does a credible job. The opener is an obscure Grappelli original, "Les Valseuses," a gentle swinger that opens with Lockwood playing pizzicato, not something one immediately associates with Grappelli. The leader contributed two originals, the easygoing "Barbizon Blues" and a light samba, "The Kid." His high-pitched opening to "Someday My Prince Will Come" is more reminiscent of Jean-Luc Ponty in the early '70s, while "Beautiful Love" features the intricate interplay of the trio. Sonny Rollins' "Pent-Up House" was a favortie of Grappelli's, and this lively bop vehicle features brilliant solos by Pedersen and Lagrene as well as the leader. Lockwood captures the spirit of Grappelli beautifully in his rendition of "My One and Only Love" while retaining his own sound. There's also material dating from the beginning of Grappelli's career that he continued to play to the end of his life. The sensual ballad "Nuages," the plucky "Minor Swing," and the somewhat dark "Tears" all come from the period of the Quintet of the Hot Club of France, which he co-led with the equally brilliant guitarist Django Reinhardt. This recording will also hold up well when compared to the late violin master's own versions. Recommended. ~ Ken Dryden
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Fusion
People also searched for
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top