Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Trigger Hippy [Slipcase]

Album: Trigger Hippy [Slipcase]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Rise Up Singing
2)    Turpentine
3)    Heartache on the Line
4)    Cave Hill Cemetery
5)    Tennessee Mud
6)    Pretty Mess
7)    Pocahontas
8)    Dry County
9)    Nothing New
10)    Ain't Persuaded Yet
11)    Adelaide
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jackie Greene (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Joan Osborne (vocals, tambourine); Nick Govrik (vocals); Tom Bukovac (guitar); Steve Gorman (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Justin Neibank.
  • Recording information: Mission Bells Studio, San Francisco, CA; Session World, Nashville, TN.
  • Nashville's Trigger Hippy are a supergroup of sorts, with two strong vocalists, Joan Osborne and Jackie Greene, both of whom have prosperous solo careers of their own, and a back line that includes Black Crowes drummer Steve Gorman and first-call Nashville session guitarist Tom Bukovac. Throw in strong group songwriting, and one has a roots rock powerhouse that sounds a bit like the Black Crowes backing up Delaney & Bonnie, with a strong R&B and soul feel, all filtered through a dose of hard country and Southern rock. The group's self-titled debut on Rounder Records opens with the delightful "Rise Up Singing," a Greene original, and holds that same warm, soulful feel throughout the whole set, with Osborne and Greene trading off vocals and verses song to song like so much honey and smoke. "Tennessee Mud," "Pretty Mess" (written by the group's bassist, Nick Govrik, another Nashville session cat), and the country-by-way-of-Stax "Dry County" are all standouts here, with sharp, warm playing and vocals to die for, all of which makes this debut stand up well against the supergroup hype that is bound to rain down on Trigger Hippy. There's little doubt that there's a lot of talent here, but the group's real hurdle will be in keeping it all together in the face of the other projects and commitments its members have on their plates. That's the problem with supergroups, but for now at least, Trigger Hippy have delivered a fine album of vintage Southern roots rock. What happens next may have as much to do with recording and touring schedules as it does with any concerns about creative chemistry, which this band has in spades. ~ Steve Leggett
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Trigger Hippy [Slipcase] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top