Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels

Album: Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels: The Blissed-Out Birth of Country Rock Vol. 4: 1971 [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hot Rod Lincoln
2)    Never Been to Spain
3)    La De Da
4)    White Light
5)    Tulsa Turnaround
6)    Pilgrim Chapter 33, The
7)    Singing in Viet Nam Talking Blues
8)    Three Angels
9)    Colorado
10)    Grand Ennui - Michael Nesmith & the First National Band
11)    When I Paint My Masterpiece
12)    Henry
13)    Seeds and Stems Again
14)    Angel from Montgomery
15)    Crazy Mama
16)    Crazy Arms, Crazy Eyes
17)    Lost Hearts
18)    Please Be with Me - Cowboy
19)    Country Boy
1)    Never Ending Song of Love
2)    Willin' - Little Feat
3)    Taxes on the Farmer Feed Us All
4)    Asphalt Outlaw Hero
5)    Good Christian Soldier
6)    Paradise
7)    For a Spanish Guitar
8)    Glendale Train
9)    Tumbling Tumbleweeds - Michael Nesmith & the First National Band
10)    Hand to Mouth
11)    This Train
12)    My Life Gets Better Every Day
13)    Delta Dawn
14)    All Because of a Woman
15)    Who Needs That Kind of Friend - Doug Kershaw
16)    Bad Weather
17)    Future's Not What It Used to Be, The
18)    Fire and Brimstone
19)    Wasted Days, Wasted Nights
20)    Lost in the Ozone
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
  • Illustrator: Colin Escott.
  • Photographers: Colin Escott; Robert Brenner.
  • The fourth volume of Bear Family's seven-edition country-rock history Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels: The Blissed-Out Birth of Country Rock kicks off with Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen's locomotive rendition of "Hot Rod Lincoln," possibly the hardest-rocking cut yet featured in this series. It's a good indication of how things were changing in 1971, the year chronicled in this double-disc set. What began as a mellow breeze blowing out of Southern California grew grittier as it swept across the country, picking up musicians who were perhaps a little rowdier than the previous generation's. That's another way of saying that there are a lot of bands featured on this installment of Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels: Commander Cody, New Riders of the Purple Sage, Randy Bachman's Brave Belt, Cochise, Cowboy, Head Hands & Feet, Twin Engine, and Poco, every one of them bringing a heavier backbeat. When combined with a slight diminishment of the literate singer/songwriters that dominated Vol. 3 -- the moody Mickey Newbury shows up toward the end of the collection, but both Kris Kristofferson and John Prine seem comfortable showcased alongside the shaggier country-rockers here -- helps give this installment a funkier feel, a suspicion confirmed by the funkier acts included here: Link Wray and Lonnie Mack riding the roots movement, Hoyt Axton roaring through "Never Been to Spain," Sir Douglas Quintet sending out "Wasted Days and Wasted Nights," Freddy Fender, wherever he is, and this comp's great re-discovery, Alex Harvey, a sensational singer/songwriter who wrote "Delta Dawn" and "Tulsa Turnaround" (and has nothing to do with the British rocker who shares his name). This kind of relaxed, down-and-dirty groove is so addictive that it's easy not to realize that Gram Parsons is M.I.A. (the Chris Hillman-led Flying Burrito Brothers are here, though), but that only underscores how by 1971 the movement Gram set into motion grew into its own thing. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels: The Blissed-Out Birth of Country Rock Vol. 4: 1971 [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top