Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Tubeway Army

Album: Tubeway Army
# Song Title   Time
1)    Listen to the Sirens
2)    My Shadow in Vain
3)    Life Machine
4)    Friends
5)    Something's in the House
6)    Everyday I Die
7)    Steel and You
8)    My Love Is a Liquid
9)    Are You Real?
10)    Dream Police
11)    Jo the Waiter
12)    Zero Bars (Mr. Smith)
13)    Positive Thinking - (live, bonus track)
14)    Boys - (live, bonus track)
15)    Blue Eyes - (live, bonus track)
16)    You Don't Know Me - (live, bonus track)
17)    My Shadow in Vain - (live, bonus track)
18)    Me My Head - (live, bonus track)
19)    That's Too Bad - (live, bonus track)
20)    Basic J - (live, bonus track)
21)    Do Your Best - (live, bonus track)
22)    Oh! Didn't I Say - (live, bonus track)
23)    I'm a Poseur - (live, bonus track)
24)    White Light/White Heat - (live, bonus track)
25)    Kill St. Joy - (live, bonus track)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • TUBEWAY ARMY contains a 1978 live recording that was previously available only as a bootleg entitled LIVE AT THE ROXY.
  • Personnel: Gary Numan (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Paul Gardiner (bass); Bob Simmonds (drums).
  • Producers include: Gary Numan.
  • Engineers include: Mike Kemp.
  • Recorded at Spaceward Studios, Cambridge and live at The Roxy, London, England. Includes liner notes by Steve Malins.
  • Personnel: Gary Numan (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Jess Lidyard (drums); Paul Gardiner (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Mike Kemp.
  • Recording information: Gooseberry Studios, London, England (08/1978); Spaceward (08/1978).
  • Illustrator: Garry Robson.
  • Photographer: Mike Stone .
  • Although Gary Numan is now remembered as the electronic-pop pioneer who penned the futuristic 1980 hit "Cars," Numan wasn't always a synth-rock visionary. Back in 1977, Numan and his band, Tubeway Army, crashed London's punk-rock party with an album and handful of singles that blended the raw edginess of punk with precise, riff-heavy guitar rock and Numan's surreal sci-fi lyrics.
  • TUBEWAY ARMY was Numan's first album-length recording and finds him just starting to develop the synthesizer-fueled sound that made him a star. While Numan colors a few tracks with a swooshing synth noodles and ominous droning sounds, most of TUBEWAY ARMY is comprised of gutsy guitar rock like "Listen to the Sirens" and "The Life Machine." Powered by surging guitar riffs and Numan's detached, robotic vocal style, the songs stand up quite well when compared to Numan's latter hits. The reissue of TUBEWAY ARMY also features 13 live tracks that were recorded at the Roxy Club in London. All of the tracks--including a searing rendition of the Velvet Underground's "White Light/White Heat"--predate the album and capture Numan and his band in all their ragged punkish glory.
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » New Wave
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Tubeway Army on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top