Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Turn the Heat Up!

Album: Turn the Heat Up!
# Song Title   Time
1)    Turn up the Heat
2)    I Always Get My Man
3)    Salt in My Wounds
4)    Cold Feet
5)    Suspicion
6)    My Turn Baby
7)    Ghetto Child
8)    Your Mama's Talking
9)    Has Anybody Seen My Man?
10)    Married to the Blues
11)    Big Lovin' Woman
12)    My Kind of Guy
13)    Have Mercy
14)    It Don't Hurt No More
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Shemekia Copeland (vocals); Jimmy Vivino (guitar); Brian Mitchell (keyboards); Michael Merritt (bass); James Wormworth (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Joe Louis Walker (guitar, vocals); Michael Hill, "Monster" Mike Welch (guitar); Barry Harrison (drums).
  • The Uptown Horns: Crispin Cioe (alto & baritone saxophones); Arno Hecht (tenor saxophone); Larry Etkin (trumpet); Robert Funk (trombone).
  • Producers: Bruce Iglauer, Jimmy Vivino, John Hahn.
  • Recorded at Sorcerer Sound and Big House Recorders, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by Art Tipaldi.
  • Audio Mixer: Jay Newland.
  • Liner Note Author: Art Tipaldi.
  • Recording information: Big House Recorders, New York, NY; BMG Studios, New York, NY; Sorcerer SOund, New York, NY.
  • Photographers: Mick Rock ; Ray Redding.
  • The daughter of the late bluesman Johnny Copeland steps up to the plate with this, her debut album for the Alligator imprint. Although only 19 at the time of this recording, Copeland comes to this album with a mature style and vast amounts of assuredness. While comparisons to Koko Taylor and Etta James will be plentiful, Shemekia has enough tricks up her sleeve to make this a disc well worth checking out. Eight of the 14 tunes aboard are co-written by producer John Hahn and strong musical support is summoned up from guitarist Jimmy Vivino, with guest turns from Joe Louis Walker and "Monster" Mike Welch, while the Uptown Horns show up on three tunes, including the title track. Highlights are numerous on this disc, but special attention should be paid to Copeland's "Ghetto Child," a nice cover of Don Covay's "Have Mercy"; Walker's "Your Mama's Talking"; and the strutting "I Always Get My Man." This is one very impressive debut. ~ Cub Koda
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Turn the Heat Up! on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top