SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Under the Covers, Vol. 3 *

Album: Under the Covers, Vol. 3 *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sitting Still
2)    Girls Talk
3)    Big Brown Eyes
4)    Kid
5)    Free Fallin'
6)    Save It for Later
7)    They Don't Know
8)    Bulrushes, The
9)    Our Lips Are Sealed
10)    How Soon Is Now
11)    More Than This
12)    Towers of London
13)    Killing Moon, The
14)    Trouble
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Matthew Sweet.
  • Recording information: Baroque Folk, Los Angeles; Lolina Green, Los Angeles.
  • Illustrator: Ed Fotheringham.
  • Photographer: Drew Reynolds .
  • Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs continue their parade through pop's past with Under the Covers, Vol. 3, a third volume that brings the duo into the '80s. This just so happens to be the decade when both singers began their professional careers. Hoffs went supernova with the Bangles in 1986, the same year Sweet released his debut Inside on Columbia, and while it'd be another half-decade before Matthew experienced his own flush of success, the two are steeped in the underground pop culture of the '80s, where the records of the '60s were celebrated and refracted through the Paisley Underground, R.E.M., and even the one-hit-wonders dotting the landscape of MTV. Under the Covers, Vol. 3 pays tribute to all these sounds and more, balancing MTV hits ("Save It for Later," "They Don't Know," "Our Lips Are Sealed," "Trouble") with songs that were staples on college radio in the '80s: R.E.M.'s "Sitting Still," the dB's "Big Brown Eyes," the Bongos' "The Bulrushes," XTC's "Towers of London," the Smiths' "How Soon Is Now," and Echo & the Bunnymen's "Killing Moon." Sweet and Hoffs remain true to the sweet, slightly wistful, guitar-heavy aesthetic they etched out on the earlier albums and it fits these robust melodies, placing an emphasis on the songcraft and the duo's harmonies. While they never reinterpret the songs -- sometimes the arrangements are stripped-down, as on Roxy Music's "More Than This," but the attitude remains the same -- Sweet & Hoffs identify why each of these tunes remains beloved, by audiences large or small, and the faithful, heartfelt nostalgia combined with the pair's participation in the scene makes Under the Covers, Vol. 3 the best trip down memory lane the duo has yet made. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Under the Covers, Vol. 3 * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top