Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Album: Under a Funeral Moon [Digipak] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Natassja in Eternal Sleep
2)    Summer of the Diabolical Holocaust
3)    Dance of Eternal Shadows, The
4)    Unholy Black Metal
5)    To Walk the Infernal Fields
6)    Under a Funeral Moon
7)    Inn I de Dype Skogers Favn
8)    Crossing the Triangle of Flames
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Full title: Under A Funeral Moon.
  • This is an Enhanced CD which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • Darkthrone includes: Fenriz (vocals, drums); Nocturno Culto (vocals); Zephyrous, Anders Risberget (guitar).
  • Personnel: Zephgrous (electric guitar); Fenriz (percussion).
  • Recording information: Creative Studios.
  • The second volume in Darkthrone's so-called "unholy trinity" of form- and era-defining black metal albums, 1993's Under a Funeral Moon, built upon the radical career reinvention undertaken on the previous year's A Blaze in the Northern Sky (which followed a straight-up death metal-styled debut), by actually deconstructing the band's sound even further. In what must surely qualify as an historic example of anti-production, the record's songs -- already shorter and more focused than those of its epic-filled predecessor -- were absolutely buried under disfiguring cobwebs of fuzzy amp distortion that effectively made them sound and feel like third-generation cassette copies.of a demo. The fact that this was all done on purpose by instrumentally adept musicians is the skeleton key to Darkthrone's genius -- generally overlooked by outsiders -- and explains why there was no shortage of diversity to be found in the songwriting itself, if one could only get past the intentionally prohibitive sonic roadblocks thrown down by Darkthrone's misanthropic personnel. These included the deceptively crude but in truth quite sophisticated riffing and subversive melodic accents to be found on "Natassja in Eternal Sleep," "Crossing the Triangle of Flames," and the multi-faceted title track; the Venom-derived black'n'roll rhythms battling against mercilessly blastbeat-paced numbers like "Summer of the Diabolical Holocaust," "Unholy Black Metal," and "Inn I De Dype Skogens Fabn"; or the stately, mid-period Bathory riffs bringing tenebrous majesty to tracks such as "The Dance of Eternal Shadows" and "To Walk the Infernal Fields." As most informed metal heads will avow, all this makes for nothing less than essential black metal listening, but because Darkthrone made these songs sound so crude -- to the point of making them less heavy -- many fans have since graded Under a Funeral Moon just a notch beneath its equally influential but slightly more forcefully recorded "unholy trinity" bookends. Also worth mentioning is that Under a Funeral Moon marks the final performance of guitarist Zephyrous, making the following year's Transilvanian Hunger the first Darkthrone album recorded by the ever-present duo of Fenriz and Nocturno Culto. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Under a Funeral Moon [Digipak] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top