Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Undercurrent [Expanded] [Remaster]

Album: Undercurrent [Expanded] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    My Funny Valentine
2)    I Hear a Rhapsody
3)    Dream Gypsy
4)    Romain
5)    Skating in Central Park
6)    Darn That Dream
7)    Stairway to the Stars
8)    I'm Getting Sentimental over You
9)    My Funny Valentine - (alternate take)
10)    Romain - (alternate take)
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Bill Evans (piano); Jim Hall (guitar).
  • Recorded at Soundmakers, New York, New York on April 24 and May 14, 1962. Originally released on United Artists (1500). Includes liner notes by David Rosenthal.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Bill Evans (piano); Jim Hall (guitar).
  • Audio Remixer: Ron McMaster.
  • Liner Note Author: David Rosenthal.
  • Recording information: Sound Makers, New York, NY (04/24/1962/05/14/1962).
  • Photographers: Frank Gauna; Charles Stewart .
  • Occasionally during UNDERCURRENT one expects the other shoe to drop: the growl of a bass entering in half time, wire brushes falling patiently into place on a sizzle cymbal. It never happens, and that's ultimately the allure of this duet record. The pleasure of these eight cuts (two of them previously unreleased, all of them recorded over two days in the spring of 1962 in New York) lies in the sense of overhearing a private conversation between two particularly thoughtful people.
  • The tunes are mostly standards, and they conjure a noirish, rainy-night aesthetic. There are a few exceptions, though--the blues come gleaming through on the limber "I'm Getting Sentimental Over You" and the more reflective "Romain." The kickoff tune, "My Funny Valentine," is the set's cooker. Evans pecks out the melody, encouraged by Hall's deft counterlines. As Hall's solo gets under way Evans provides a pointillistic background that grows in intensity, urging on the guitarist, who replies with increasing heat before passing things off to Evans and getting into some spirited comping of his own.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Undercurrent [Expanded] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top