SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Underground [Bonus Tracks]

Album: Underground [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Thelonious - (Take 1)
2)    Ugly Beauty - (Take 5)
3)    Raise Four
4)    Boo Boo's Birthday - (Take 11)
5)    Easy Street
6)    Green Chimneys
7)    In Walked Bud
8)    Ugly Beauty - (previously unreleased, Take 4)
9)    Boo Boo's Birthday - (previously unreleased, Take 2)
10)    Thelonious - (previously unreleased, Take 3)
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano); Jon Hendricks (vocals); Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone); Larry Gales (bass); Ben Riley (drums).
  • Recorded at Columbia Studios, New York, New York on December 14 & 21, 1967 and February 14 & December 14, 1968. Includes liner notes by Peter Keepnews.
  • This is part of the Columbia Jazz Masterpieces series.
  • UNDERGROUND was the first Monk album in a decade to present new compositions by the artist. It is also the last album recorded with his classic quartet, featuring tenorist Charlie Rouse and the Ben Riley/Larry Gales rhythm section. Famous for its fun cover art (Monk is depicted in a French Resistance hideout at the piano with a machine gun slung over his shoulder, as a grumpy Nazi general looks on from the background), UNDERGROUND is truly one of Monk's finest offerings.
  • His singular weave of angularity, swing, sweetness and simplicity appears everywhere. "Ugly Beauty," one of the new tunes, is a waltzing ballad. From the soft, lilting head to Rouse's blowing, there's as much lemon in the honey as the title suggests. "Raise Four" is a spacious blues, with Monk forming lean, expressive lines from its already-spare melody. This and "In Walked Bud" are prime examples of Monk's repetition of a line through the chord changes as a way of parading its various harmonic faces. The latter track is made quite evocative with the impromptu addition of singer Jon Hendricks' lyrics.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bebop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Underground [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top