Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Unplugged
# Song Title   Time
1)    The Old Laughing Lady More Info...
2)    Mr. Soul More Info...
3)    World On A String More Info...
4)    Pocahontas More Info...
5)    Stringman More Info...
6)    Like A Hurricane More Info...
7)    The Needle And Damage Done More Info...
8)    Helpless More Info...
9)    Harvest Moon More Info...
10)    Transformer Man More Info...
11)    Unknown Legend More Info...
12)    Look Out For My Love More Info...
13)    Long May You Run More Info...
14)    From Hank to Hendrix More Info...
Product Details


1. Mr Soul

2. The Needle And The Damage Done

3. World On A String

4. Helpless

5. Harvest Moon

6. Unknown Legend

7. From Hank To Hendrix

8. Like A Hurricane

9. Pocahontas

10. Long May You Run

11. Stringman

12. Transformer Man

13. Look Out For My Love

14. The Old Lady Laughing

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Neil Young (vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano, pump organ); Nils Lofgren (vocals, guitar); Nicolette Larson, Astrid Young (vocals); Ben Keith (dobro); Spooner Oldham (piano, pump organ); Tim Drummond (bass, guitar); Oscar Butterworth (drums); Larry Cragg (broom).
  • Engineers: David Briggs, John Hanlon, John Nowland, John Hausmann.
  • Recorded at Universal Studios, Los Angeles, California on February 7, 1993.
  • Personnel: Neil Young (vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano, organ); Nils Lofgren (vocals, guitar, autoharp, accordion); Astrid Young, Nicolette Larson (vocals); Ben Keith (dobro); Spooner Oldham (piano, organ); Tim Drummond (bass guitar); Oscar Butterworth (drums); Larry Cragg (percussion).
  • Recording information: Universal Studios, Los Angeles, CA (02/07/1993).
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Larry Cragg; Nicolette Larson.
  • Taped on February 7, 1993, and first broadcast on MTV on March 10, Neil Young's Unplugged appearance was released as a home video to coincide with the release of an audio CD version. This 73-minute tape ran seven minutes longer than the album, the extra time consisting of applause, guitar tuning, and a few scattered asides ("Aw, it's nothin', really," Young said, for example, after an audience member called out, "Thank you, Neil"). Young was anything but videogenic in his leather jacket, Harley Davidson T-shirt, jeans, and boots, sitting hunched over his guitar, often scowling as he turned his face, hooded with unruly, grey-flecked hair and partially covered by a week-old stubble, to the microphone. Yet his casual appearance and introspective demeanor served to focus attention on his music. And a 14-song set that on record seemed a random selection from across his career made more sense on video, as Young began with a series of early songs, accompanying himself on guitar and harmonica, then moving to keyboards and gradually bringing other musicians on-stage to augment the sound. The songs were wistful, midtempo reflections on stardom, love, and the passage of time. Some were familiar, including "Mr. Soul" and "Like a Hurricane," and were given new treatments; others were obscure or even previously unrecorded ("Stringman"). But all were melodic and inviting, especially the selections from Harvest Moon, including the title tune, which featured a broom as a percussion instrument. Unplugged was a low-key Neil Young performance that emphasized the consistency of his work over time and the repetition of certain lyrical themes and musical tendencies. If it avoided some of his best-known folk and country material, it did contain a few crowd-pleasers, and it brought up several forgotten tunes for reconsideration. ~ William Ruhlmann
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (8/19/93, p.76) - 3 Stars - Good - "...Young flashes both sides of his musical personality: the earnest folkie and the edgy heretic....the music has the relaxed aura of a friendly folkside folk sing..."

Entertainment Weekly (6/18/93, p.57) - "...while many of these songs sound like earlier versions, there are thrilling exceptions: 'Helpless' takes on a gospel longing, and 'Mr. Soul' becomes a despondent dirge..." - Rating: B

Q (1/94, p.83) - Included in Q's list of 'The 50 Best Albums Of 1993' - "...a spellbinding hour's music...."

Q (7/93, p.98) - 5 Stars - Indispensible - "...Just when Unplugged ought to be running out of steam, Neil Young has taken the measure of its possibilities, picked exactly the right balance of material and put one over on everybody who's been there before, including Clapton and Springsteen..."

Q (8/93, p.131) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...[a] willingness to re-mold songs by means of unusual instrumentation...marks out this show as probably the best in MTV's UNPLUGGED series..."

Mojo (Publisher) (11/01, p.151) - "...Young confidently recasts 'Transformer Man', 'Like a Hurricane' and other classics. The nearest thing to a career-spanning retrospective, and probably the best place for a novice to start."

NME (Magazine) (12/25/93, p.67) - Ranked #26 in New Musical Express' list of 'The Top 50 LPs Of 1993' - "...old faves and obscurities from as far back as '69, made quietly reflective with guitar, harmonium and Neil's prarie dog howl. A negative image of the stormy ARC WELD...."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Unplugged on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top