Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Uptown/Downtown
# Song Title   Time
1)    Love Surrounds Us Live at the Blue Note More Info... 8:44
2)    Three Flowers Live at the Blue Note More Info... 7:12
3)    Genesis Live at the Blue Note More Info... 8:15
4)    Uptown Live at the Blue Note More Info... 7:20
5)    Lotus Flower Live at the Blue Note More Info... 7:03
6)    Blues For Basie Live at the Blue Note More Info... 9:53
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano), Howard Johnson (tuba), John Clark (French horn), Steve Turre, Robin Eubanks (trombones), Virgil Jones, Earl Gardner, Kamau Adilifu (trumpets), Ricky Ford, Junior Cook (tenor saxophones), Joe Ford, Doug Harris (alto saxophones), Avery Sharpe (bass), Louis Hayes (drums) and Steve Thornton (percussion).
  • Recorded at the Blue Note, New York on November 25-26, 1988. Includes original liner notes by Kevin Whitehead.
  • Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano); Doug Harris (flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Joe Ford (flute, soprano saxophone); Junior Cook, Ricky Ford (tenor saxophone); Kamau Adilifu, Virgil Jones, Earl Gardner (trumpet); John Clark (French horn); Robin Eubanks, Steve Turre (trombone); Howard Johnson (tuba); Louis Hayes (drums); Steve Thornton (percussion).
  • Audio Remixer: David Luke.
  • Liner Note Author: Kevin Whitehead.
  • Recording information: Blue Note, New York, NY (11/25/1988/11/26/1988).
  • Photographer: Frank Lindner.
  • The debut recording from McCoy Tyner's big band features the pianist's all-star 15-piece unit romping through five of his originals (including "Blues for Basie") plus Steve Turre's "Lotus Flower." With such fine soloists as tenors Junior Cook and Ricky Ford, trumpeter Kamau Adilifu, trombonist Turre, and the leader, the ensemble (which includes John Clark's French horn and the tuba of Howard Johnson) had quickly gained its own sound and the results are quite memorable and frequently exciting. Recommended. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Uptown/Downtown on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top