Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Used

New or Used: $9.99
Album: The Used
# Song Title   Time
1)    Maybe Memories
2)    Taste of Ink, The
3)    Bulimic
4)    Say Days Ago
5)    Poetic Tragedy
6)    Buried Myself Alive
7)    Box Full of Sharp Objects, A
8)    Blue and Yellow
9)    Greener with the Scenery
10)    Noise and Kisses
11)    On My Own
12)    Pieces Mended [Album Version w/Hidden Tracks "Polly" and "C
13)    [Untitled Hidden Track]
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • The Used: Quinn Allman (vocals, guitar); Jeph Howard (vocals, bass); Branden Steineckert (vocals, drums); Bert McCracken (vocals).
  • Additional personnel: Carmen Daye (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Foxy Studios, Marina Del Rey, California and Olympic Studios, London, England.
  • Personnel: Quinn Allman (vocals, guitar); Branden Steineckert (vocals, drums); Joe Howard, Jeph Howard, Bert McCracken (vocals); Carmen Daye, John Feldmann (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: John Feldmann.
  • Recording information: Foxy Studios, Marina Del Rey, CA; Olympic Studios, London, England.
  • Illustrator: Gina Keeler.
  • Photographer: P.R. Brown.
  • Although much is made of this Utah foursome's rebellious background (singer Bert McCracken's former drug addiction and the band's pre-record deal pan-handling street-kid lifestyle), all that's really required to ascertain the level of the band's commitment is a close listen to their self-titled debut release. They leap into each song as though their lives depended upon it (maybe they're not so anxious to go back to spare-changing). While they are initially presented as another entrant in the aggro-rock sweepstakes, there's a bit more than that to the Used. Sure, McCracken can let out blood-curdling screams of angst with the best of them, and there's no shortage of blazing guitars and pounding drums, but the Used seem to have spent at least as much time listening to Jane's Addiction as they have to the Deftones. The band's range is made most clear by the acoustic-guitar-and-strings ballad "On My Own" and the melodic piano motif at the end of the closing song "Pieces Mended."
Professional Reviews
Q (1/03, p.124) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...McCracken's strangulated wail kicks off a series of surprisingly subtle songs that come charging in like screaming thrash metal....A crafted, full-throttle debut..."

CMJ (7/15/02, p.16) - "...This band's passionate performances will likely be too alluring for even the most stringent metal and hardcore fans to ignore....McCracken seesaws between throat-searing shrieks and high notes that are as smooth as a baby's fat chushy ass..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Used on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top