SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Valentyne Suite

Album: Valentyne Suite
# Song Title   Time
1)    The Kettle More Info... 4:29
2)    Elegy More Info... 3:14
3)    Butty's Blues More Info... 6:47
4)    The Machine Demands A Sacrifice More Info... 3:54
5)    The Valentyne Suite - January's Search/ February's Valentyne/ The Grass Is Always Greener More Info... 16:56
6)    Arthur's Moustache More Info... 6:31
7)    Lost Angeles More Info... 8:37
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Colosseum: Jon Hiseman (drums); Dave Greenslade, Dick Heckstall-Smith, Clem Clemson.
  • Includes liner notes by Jon Hiseman.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Colosseum: Chris Farlowe (vocals); Dave Clempson (guitar, background vocals); Jim Roche, James Litherland (guitar); Dick Heckstall (saxophone); Dave Greenslade (organ, background vocals); Mark Clarke (bass, background vocals); Tony Reeves (bass); John Hiseman (drums).
  • Recorded between 1969 & 1971. Includes liner notes by Shaun Stallard.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • One of England's prime jazz-rock -- or, more accurately, rock-jazz -- outfits, most of the members of Colosseum had apprenticed in blues bands, and it shows very strongly on some of the material here. Both "The Kettle" and "Butty's Blues" are essentially tarted-up 12-bar blues, although they work well in a grander context; in the latter case much grander, as a brass ensemble enters for the last part, drowning out everything but the guitar, an indication that this recording is in dire need of remastering. "Elegy" is a fast-paced, minor-key blues that stretches guitarist James Litherland's vocal abilities. Things do get far more interesting with "The Machine Demands a Sacrifice," which offers solo opportunities to organist Dave Greenslade and sax player Dick Heckstall-Smith before re-emerging in what can only be called a proto-industrial style, all heavily treated clattering percussion. The album's real joy comes with "The Valentyne Suite," which takes the band out of their bluesy comfort zone into something closer to prog rock. Bandleader Jon Hiseman is a stalwart throughout, his busy drumming and fills owing far more to jazz than the studied backbeat of rock. Greenslade proves to be a largely unsung hero, his only real solo in the suite something to offer a challenge to vintage Keith Emerson, but with swing. As to criticism, bassist Tony Reeves has very little flow to his playing, which severely hampers a rhythm section that needs to be loose-limbed, and Litherland's guitar playing is formulaic, which can be fine for rock, but once outside the most straightforward parameters, he seems lost. In retrospect this might not quite the classic it seemed at the time, but it remains listenable, and for much of the time, extremely enjoyable. ~ Chris Nickson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Valentyne Suite on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top