Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Vanguard Sessions

Album: Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan
# Song Title   Time
1)    Love Minus Zero/No Limit
2)    It's All over Now, Baby Blue
3)    You Ain't Going Nowhere
4)    It Ain't Me Babe
5)    I Pity the Poor Immigrant
6)    Tears of Rage
7)    Love Is Just a Four-Letter Word
8)    I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
9)    Farewell, Angelina
10)    Dear Landlord
11)    One Too Many Mornings
12)    I Shall Be Released
13)    Boots of Spanish Leather
14)    Daddy You've Been on My Mind
15)    Restless Farewell
16)    Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
17)    Walls of Red Wing
18)    Drifter's Escape
19)    Walkin' Down the Line
20)    North Country Blues
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar); Bruce Langhorne (electric guitar); Geno Foreman (guitar); David Soyer (cello); Ralph Rinzler (mandolin); Richard Romoff, Russ Stavkus (bass); Grady Martin, Ken Buttrey, Norbert Putnam, Junior Huskey, Hargus Robbins, Pete Drake, Hal Rugg, Pete Wade, Tommy Jackson, Buddy Spicher, Harold Bradley, Jerry Reed, Jerry Kennedy, Steve Stills, Bill Purcell, David Briggs, Fred Carter, John Gimble.
  • Producer: Maynard Ferguson.
  • Compilation producer: Tom Vickers.
  • Engineers include: Selby Cofeen.
  • Includes liner notes by Charles J. Fuss.
  • Digitally remastered by Jeff Zaraya.
  • Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar); John Baez (vocals, guitar); Bruce Langhorne (electric guitar); Ralph Rinzler (mandolin); David Soyer (cello).
  • Liner Note Authors: Joan Baez; Langston Hughes.
  • Illustrator: John Byrne Cooke.
  • Photographers: Daniel Kramer ; David Gahr; Diana Davies; David Gohr.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Roy M. "Junior" Husky; Fred Carter; David Briggs ; Tommy Jackson; Bill Pursell.
  • Culling 15 tracks from her 1968 release of Any Day Now and adding five tracks taken from her releases of the early '60s, Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan is a wonderful example of Joan Baez's ability to transcend the work of other songwriters. Though it could be said that the genius of Dylan's songcraft can occasionally be obscured by the understated starkness of his presentation, Baez's use of slightly countrified arrangements to compliment her powerful vocals succeeds in recasting these classics in a slightly prettier package. Baez takes few liberties, so most tracks don't count as surprises, though a bluesy a cappella rendition of "Tears of Rage" and a funky, soulful "Dear Landlord" nearly qualify as such. More than anything, Baez's renditions make the listener realize just how incredibly nuanced Dylan's delivery can be. Though standards like "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere," "It Ain't Me Babe," and "I Shall Be Released" are covered, just as many tracks are of a lesser-known variety, such as "Walkin' Down the Line," "Love Is Just a Four-Letter Word," and "Walls of Red Wing." Of course, bringing out the genius in Dylan's work isn't exactly akin to pulling teeth, but the timeless quality of Baez's thoughtful renditions more than does the work justice. ~ Matt Fink
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top