SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Verve Jazz Masters 9

Album: Verve Jazz Masters 9: Astrud Gilberto
# Song Title   Time
1)    Vivo Sonhando (Dreamer) More Info... 2:05
2)    The Girl From Ipanema More Info... 6:36
3)    Once Upon A Summertime More Info... 3:06
4)    A Felicidade More Info... 2:48
5)    A Certain Sadness More Info... 3:11
6)    Water To Drink More Info... 2:20
7)    Frevo More Info... 2:28
8)    Corcovado (Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars) More Info... 5:38
9)    Dindi More Info... 2:43
10)    Look To The Rainbow More Info... 3:29
11)    Day By Day More Info... 2:07
12)    The Shadow Of Your Smile More Info... 2:31
13)    (Take Me To) Aruanda More Info... 2:31
14)    Gentle Rain More Info... 2:27
15)    Tristeza More Info... 3:36
16)    Berimbau More Info... 2:23
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Joao Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim (vocals, guitar); Gil Evans (arranger, piano); Marty Paich, Don Sebesky, Claus Ogerman, Al Cohn (arranger, conductor); Bud Shank (alto saxophone, flute); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Joao Donato (piano); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Grady Tate (drums).
  • Compilation producers: Michael Lang, Gene Lees.
  • Recored in New York, New York and Los Angeles, California between 1964 and 1966. Includes liner notes by Gene Lees.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • This is part of the Verve Jazz Masters series.
  • Personnel: Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Joao Gilberto, Ant?nio Carlos Jobim (vocals, guitar); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Bud Shank (flute, alto saxophone); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Johnny Coles, Stu Williamson (trumpet); Milt Bernhart, Urbie Green, Bob Brookmeyer (trombone); Gil Evans, Joao Donato (piano); Walter Wanderley (organ); Gary Burton (vibraphone); Grady Tate, Claudio Slon (drums); Bobby Rosengarden (percussion).
  • Recording information: Carnegie Hall, NY (10/09/1964-09/21/1966); Los Angeles, CA (10/09/1964-09/21/1966).
  • Photographer: Chuck Stewart.
  • Arrangers: Claus Ogerman; Don Sebesky; Gil Evans; Al Cohn; Marty Paich.
  • Astrud Gilberto's entry in the nicely appointed Verve Jazz Masters compilation series shows exactly why the Brazilian singer is deserving of such an accolade. In her '60s heyday, Gilberto was often derided by jazz purists for her vibrato-less "desafinado" (deliberately slightly off-pitch) singing style and deadpan, childlike voice. But the diminutive bossa nova star has since been a huge influence on dozens of jazz and pop singers.
  • VERVE JAZZ MASTERS is less of a greatest hits package than it is a smartly balanced retrospective of many of Gilberto's best performances. Her biggest hits, "Call Me" and "Summer Samba," are not included, and her signature tune, "The Girl From Ipanema," is only represented by a live take from a 1964 Carnegie Hall concert. The collection places equal emphasis on Gilberto's bossa nova-style interpretations of jazz standards and on her signature Portuguese-language sambas. The smartly packaged CD also features remastered sound and several rare photographs.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Verve Jazz Masters 9: Astrud Gilberto on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top