SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Very Best of Red Bird & Blue Cat Records

Album: Very Best of Red Bird & Blue Cat Records
# Song Title   Time
1)    Chapel of Love - The Dixie-Cups
2)    I Wanna Love Him So Bad - The Jelly Beans
3)    People Say - The Dixie-Cups
4)    Remember (Walking in the Sand) - The Shangri-Las
5)    Goodnight Baby - The Butterflys
6)    Baby Be Mine - The Jelly Beans
7)    Leader of the Pack - The Shangri-Las
8)    You Should Have Seen the Way He Looked at Me - The Dixie-Cups
9)    Give Him a Great Big Kiss - The Shangri-Las
10)    Boy from New York City, The - The Ad Libs
11)    Little Bell - The Dixie-Cups
12)    New York's a Lonely Town - The Tradewinds
13)    Iko Iko - The Dixie-Cups
14)    He Ain't No Angel - The Ad Libs
15)    I Can Never Go Home Anymore - The Shangri-Las
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Producers include: Shadow Morton, Jeff Barry, Artie Ripp, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller.
  • Compilation producers: Eliot Goshman, Ron Furmanek.
  • Includes liner notes by Colin Escott.
  • Digitally remastered by Eliot Goshman & Ron Furmanek (1998, Taragon Studios, Deer Park, New York).
  • Audio Mixers: Eliot Goshman; Ron Furmanek.
  • Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
  • Recording information: 02/03/1964-10/12/1965.
  • Arrangers: Ellie Greenwich; Mike Stoller; Artie Butler.
  • Red Bird and Blue Cat were the brainchildren of songwriters Jerry Lieber and Mike Stoller with help from old-time record-biz guy George Goldner. Formed at the cusp of the Beatles' arrival in the U.S., their success ratio was phenomenal, keeping the girl-group sound alive and actually extending it into the area of mop-top mania that had redefined pop music. Although this material has often been bootlegged over in Europe, this marks the first time it's been legitimately reissued and in real stereo. Although Alvin Robinson's "Down Home Girl" (later covered by the Rolling Stones) and Ellie Greenwich's minor pop masterpiece "You Don't Know" are conspicuously missing, this 15-track collection brings together all the notable tracks from the Dixie Cups, the Shangri-Las, the Jelly Beans, the Ad-Libs and marvelous one-offs from the Butterflys and the Trade Winds, making this a one-stop primer of the label's best and biggest. Sound is superb and liner notes from Colin Escott are equally wonderful. ~ Cub Koda
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Very Best of Red Bird & Blue Cat Records on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top