SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series, Vol. 1
# Song Title   Time
1)    World Is Yours, The
2)    Personality Crisis
3)    No Good - Kaleo
4)    Sugar Daddy (Theme from Vinyl)
5)    Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean - Ruth Brown
6)    Mr. Pitiful - Otis Redding
7)    Suspicious Minds - Dee Dee Warwick
8)    All the Way from Memphis - Mott the Hoople
9)    Stranded in the Jungle
10)    I Like It Like That - Chris Kenner
11)    Cha Cha Twist
12)    It's Just Begun - The Jimmy Castor Bunch
13)    Want Ads
14)    Hand Clapping Song - The Meters
15)    Slippin' Into Darkness
16)    Frankenstein - The Edgar Winter Group
17)    Rotten Apple
18)    I Just Want to Make Love to You - Foghat
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Vinyl, a big, splashy and expensive HBO original series conceived by Martin Scorsese, Mick Jagger, and Terence Winter, intends to bring back the glory days of the record industry -- not the record pluggers of the '50s or the Sunset strip hustlers of the '60s, but the coked-out sleaze bags of the '70s. Set smack dab in the middle of that decade, just as the '60s hangover started to lift but punk was still nothing more than dry heaves, Vinyl celebrates the downright filthy New York City -- or the "Rotten Apple," as the show's signature buzz band Nasty Bits calls it on one of a handful of original songs here. The Nasty Bits sound a little like the Heartbreakers -- Richard Hell's, not Tom Petty's -- and their lead singer, one James Jagger, sounds convincing as he snarls up some bile, but the band, like their counterpart R&B stand-in Ty Taylor, benefits from specificity. Kaleo and Sturgill Simpson wade into the thick, murky rivers of pastiche, conjuring a very heavy '70s feel that recalls no particular period or band. Elsewhere, Vinyl drifts into familiar waters, recycling shopworn Scorsese tropes -- it's possible to feel the smash cut from Simpson's theme "Sugar Daddy" in Ruth Brown's "Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean. There are also songs often heard on other '70s soundtracks, plus a couple nice surprises (the Meters' "Hand Clapping Song") in the show) and the New York Dolls (by David Johansen, who was there when it all went down). As a whole, the Vinyl soundtrack is handsome, smart, and completely on point, which is also its handicap: instead of delivering the thrill of rock & roll, it suggests this history was all preordained. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Soundtracks » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series, Vol. 1 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top