Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Violins No End

Album: Violins No End
# Song Title   Time
1)    Don't Get Around Much Anymore Album Version More Info... 9:31
2)    Chapeau Blues Album Version More Info... 7:39
3)    No Points Today Album Version More Info... 5:16
4)    The Lady Is A Tramp Album Version More Info... 6:52
5)    Desert Sands Album Version More Info... 7:16
6)    How High The Moon Album Version More Info... 5:18
7)    Moonlight In Vermont Album Version More Info... 4:32
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Stephane Grappelli, Stuff Smith (violin); Herb Ellis (guitar); Oscar Peterson (piano); Ray Brown (bass); Jo Jones (drums).
  • Recorded at Barclay Studios and live at Salle Pleyel, Paris, France in May 1957.
  • Personnel: St‚phane Grappelli (violin); Herb Ellis (guitar); Stuff Smith (violin); Oscar Peterson (piano); Jo Jones (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Phil DeLancie.
  • Liner Note Author: Norman Granz.
  • Recording information: Barclay Studios, Paris, France (05/1957/??/1957); Salle Pleyel (05/1957/??/1957).
  • Photographer: David Redfern.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Herb Ellis; Jo Jones ; Joe Jones; Ray Brown .
  • Since Joe Venuti was in the middle of a long off-period, this CD reissue features arguably the two top jazz violinists of the 1950s: Stephane Grappelli and Stuff Smith. Joined by pianist Oscar Peterson, guitarist Herb Ellis, bassist Ray Brown and drummer Jo Jones, the two masterful violinists share four songs ("Don't Get Around Much Anymore," "Chapeau Blues," "No Points Today" and "The Lady Is a Tramp") in a fine studio session that contrasts the styles of the fairly complementary fiddlers. In addition, although this set has been reissued under Grappelli's name, there are three songs from a Paris concert that took place the same day without Stephane. Stuff sounds in peak form on his "Desert Sands," "How High the Moon" and "Moonlight In Vermont." This fun set is easily recommended. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Guitar
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Violin
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Violins No End on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top