Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Ten-time Grammy Award winner/vocal innovator Bobby McFerrin surprises us yet again with
VOCAbuLarieS, his first new release in eight years.
Like his #1 worldwide hit song Don't Worry Be Happy and his multi-platinum duo album Hush with
cellist Yo-Yo Ma, VOCAbuLarieS is based on Bobby's experiments with multi-track recording and his
ceaseless exploration of the potential of the human voice. VOCAbuLarieS is Bobby McFerrin music
for the 21st century. A collaboration with the composer/arranger/producer Roger Treece,
VOCAbuLarieS features over fifty of the world's finest singers, recorded one at a time and in small
groups to create a virtual choir made up of over 1,400 vocal tracks.
Constructed as meticulously as a Mozart symphony or a Steely Dan album, intricately synthesized
from countless stylistic elements, VOCAbuLarieS may be unlike any album anyone has ever
recorded. Yet the music is always accessible, joyous, and inviting. VOCAbuLarieS celebrates
Bobby's love of all musical genres, from classical to world music, R&B to gospel and beyond,
building upon McFerrin's past explorations and journeying into bold new territory.
If the song Don't Worry Be Happy is all you know about Bobby McFerrin, sit back and prepare to be

1. Baby
2. Say Ladeo
3. Wailers
4. Messages
5. The Garden
6. He Ran To The Train
7. Brief Eternity
Album: Vocabularies
# Song Title   Time
1)    Baby More Info... 8:04
2)    Say Ladeo More Info... 8:44
3)    Wailers More Info... 10:25
4)    Messages More Info... 11:22
5)    The Garden More Info... 8:34
6)    He Ran To The Train More Info... 10:29
7)    Brief Eternity More Info... 6:13
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Authors: Jeff Tamarkin; Karen Goldfeder.
  • Recording information: Alex Acu¤a Studio; Audible Art, New York, NY; Gem Studios.
  • Photographer: Carol Friedman.
  • Bobby McFerrin has always been a wildly restless talent, continually looking to develop fresh ideas for the human voice and place it in -- sometimes wildly -- different contexts from simple folk and pop songs to improvisational settings to strident compositional frameworks. His productions include duet records with instrumentalists Chick Corea and Yo-Yo Ma, as well as the creation of a virtual a cappella choir from his own vocal overdubs. All of this said, there has always been "something missing" from his recorded works that shows itself in concert, outside recording studio confines. On VOCAbuLarieS he seems to have found it. This is the work that anyone remotely interested in McFerrin needs to hear. Collaborating with composer, arranger, and conductor Roger Treece over seven years, McFerrin's been given a foil who not only understands his previous output, but can focus his ideas and take them to the next developmental peak. The pair employed over 50 vocalists from different genres and nations to create a virtual choir in the studio. According to a press release, they cut over 1,400 vocal tracks. The music here is "fusion" in the most seamless and beautiful sense of the word: classical, pop, soul, Middle Eastern, African, and Eastern European vocal traditions all move together, and encounter one another head-on. They meld into a whole where the seams show, but are elegantly aurally tailored to create something entirely new -- even if the material always isn't. Three selections here come from the controversially beautiful Medicine Music album, from 1996. But the versions here are radically different than the originals; the voices, rhythms, textures, and even ambiences of these voices have a more muscular quality, much more forceful and complex while simultaneously being more "listenable." The opener, "Baby," provides proof. In the original it was a simple folk song, a lullaby with African roots; here is it a harmonically challenging, intricate labyrinth where 22 singers accompany McFerrin as well as a rhythm section. "Wailers" is a pulsing chant with Middle Eastern, African, and Eastern European harmonies woven together by singers who include Sussan Deyhim, Luciana Souza, and Janis Siegel. "He Ran to the Train" combines -- in a wholly new way -- two tracks from Medicine Music in an explosively knotty, compellingly emotional call-and-response piece that is as rhythmically complex as it is harmonically. The set closes with "Brief Eternity," a new piece of modern sacred music that evokes everything from Gregorian chant and polyphony to John Tavener and Arvo P„rt. VOCAbuLarieS is easily McFerrin's finest moment on record as well as his most ambitious, and should win him some new fans even among cynics. ~ Thom Jurek
Professional Reviews
JazzTimes (p.72) - "'The Garden' unfolds like rainbow-colored blooms stretching toward the sun, and the closing 'Brief Eternity' progresses from hymnlike solemnity to a swirling exercise in dream dancing."

Uncut (magazine) (p.95) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he best tracks, like 'Baby' and 'Brief Eternity' are pitched between funky gospel congregation and austere Bulgarian choir."
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Vocabularies on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top