Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
The Voice

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » World Music » Africa » African

The Voice

Artist: Vusi Mahlasela (Recorded By)

Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: ATO (USA)
Album: The Voice
# Song Title   Time
1)    Melodi Ya Mamelodi
2)    Silang Mabele
3)    When You Come Back
4)    Weeping
5)    Sleep Tight Margaret
6)    Red Song
7)    Troubadour
8)    Emtini Wababe
9)    Fountain
10)    [Untitled]
11)    Mma Modiane
12)    Loneliness
13)    Ntate Mahlasela
14)    Prayer for Our Time, A

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Vusi Mahlasela (vocals, acoustic guitar); Louis Malanga (acoustic & electric guitars); Moses Mafiri (acoustic guitar); Paul Majoro (electric guitar); Lloyd Ross (guitar, mandolin); Alistair Coakley, Mauritz Lotz (guitar); Kelly Petlane (flute); Barry Snyman, Bra Ntemi Piliso (alto saxophone); Phil Holder (saxophone); Bruce Cassidy, Marcus Wyatt (trumpet); Jannie Hannepoot Van Tonder (trombone); Themba Mikhize (piano, keyboards); Johan Laas (keyboards, programming); Christopher Letcher, Tani Mello (keyboards); Victor Masondo, Jantshi Mayo (bass); Herbie Tsoaledi (upright bass); Ian Herman (drums, percussion); Kevin Gibson, Brent Harris, Johnny Motuba (drums); Jahn Beukes (bendir); Basie Mahlasela (percussion).
  • Producers: Lloyd Ross, Graham Beggs, Louis Mhlanga, Vusi Mahlasela.
  • Principally recorded at Shifty, Downtown, CSR Studios, Johannesburg, South Africa. Includes liner notes by Roger Steffens.
  • Personnel: Vusi Mahlasela (vocals, acoustic guitar); Lloyd Ross (guitar, mandolin); Mauritz Lotz (guitar); Louis Mhlanga (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Moses Mafiri (acoustic guitar); Paul Majoro (electric guitar); Noise Khanyile (violin); Kelly Petlane (flute); Phil Holder (saxophone); Bra Ntemi Piliso, Barry Snyman (alto saxophone); Marcus Wyatt, Bruce Cassidy (trumpet); Jannie VanTonder (trombone); Johan Laas (keyboards, programming); Christopher Letcher, Tani Mello (keyboards); Herbie Tsoaeli (upright bass); Ian Herman (drums, percussion); Johnny Motuba, Kevin Gibson (drums); Jahn Beukes (bendir); Basie Mahlasela (percussion); Rick Mitchell (programming); Queen Ranyama, Sipho Mbhele, Margaret Motsage, Wings Segale, Faith Kekana, Stella Khumalo, Sipho Mxumalo, Vicky Vilakazi, Thandi Masemola, Caroline Masemola, Constance Mahlo, James Stewart (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Rick Mitchell.
  • Liner Note Authors: Roger Steffens; Vusi Mahlasela.
  • Recording information: CSR Studio, Johannesburg, South Africa; Downtown Studios, Johannesburg, South Africa; Rhino Studios, North West Province; Shifty Studio, Johannesburg, South Africa.
  • Introduction by: Roger Steffens.
  • Photographer: Lance Nawa.
  • Arrangers: Proud People's Band; Lloyd Ross; Vusi Mahlasela.

Professional Reviews
CMJ (07/14/03, p.7) - "...Acting like a vessel for pure emotion, Mahlasela glides across octaves effortlessly, slipping into an angelic falsetto and back, while translating his passion into songs that resonate on a universal level..."

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:3 October, 2005


1. Melodi Ya Mamelodi

2. Silang Mabele

3. When You Come Back

4. Weeping

5. Sleep Tight Margaret

6. Red Song

7. Troubadour

8. Emtini Wababe

9. Fountain

10. Untitled

11. Mma Modiane

12. Loneliness

13. Ntate Mahlasela

14. A Prayer For Our Time

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Voice on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.