SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Voyage To India. Edition]

New or Used: $15.00
Album: Voyage To India. Edition]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Growth Album Version More Info... 1:01
2)    Little Things Main More Info... 3:29
3)    Talk To Her Album Version More Info... 5:11
4)    Slow Down Album Version More Info... 3:52
5)    The Truth Album Version More Info... 3:27
6)    Beautiful Surprise Album Version More Info... 2:29
7)    Healing Album Version More Info... 0:56
8)    Get It Together Album Version More Info... 4:55
9)    Headed In The Right Direction Album Version More Info... 3:29
10)    Can I Walk With You Album Version More Info... 3:50
11)    The One Album Version More Info... 3:22
12)    Complicated Melody Album Version More Info... 3:14
13)    Gratitude Album Version More Info... 1:05
14)    Good Man Album Version More Info... 3:32
15)    God Is Real Album Version More Info... 4:18
16)    Interested Album Version More Info... 4:06
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: India Arie (vocals, guitar); Joyce Simpson (vocals); Blue Miller (acoustic guitar); John Willis, Brent Barrett (electric guitar); Paul Morton Jr. (guitar, keyboards, programming, background vocals); Drew Ramsey (guitar, programming); Ricky Quinones (guitar); Dave Davidson (violin); John Catchings (cello); Shannon Sanders (keyboards, percussion, programming, background vocals); Toney Harrel (keyboards); Khari Simmons, Doug Kahan, Avery Johnson, Bryant Russell, Alvin Garrett (bass); Forrest Robinson, Steve Grossman, Donald Wesley Williams II (drums); Terry McMillan (percussion); Kerisha Hicks, Tony Harrington, Laurnea Wilkerson, Paige Marin, Paul Morton (background vocals).
  • Producers: India Aire, Shannon Sanders, Andrew Ramsey, Blue Miller, Paul Morton Jr.
  • Recorded at Access Studios and D.A.R.P Studios, Atlanta, Georgia, Electric Lady Studios, New York, New York, Drew's Groove and Music Mill Studio, Nashville, Tennesee.
  • VOYAGE TO INDIA won the 2003 Grammy Award for Best R&B Album.
  • "Little Things" won the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Urban/Alternative Performance.
  • "Christmas Song" was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals.
  • Personnel: India.Arie (guitar, background vocals); Joyce Simpson (vocals); Paul Morton Jr. (guitar, keyboards, programming); Ricky Quinones (guitar); Blue Miller (acoustic guitar, programming, background vocals); John Willis, Brent Barrett (electric guitar); David Davidson (violin); John Catchings (cello); Shannon Sanders (keyboards, percussion, programming, background vocals); Tony Harrell (keyboards); Steve Grossman (drums, percussion); Terry McMillan (percussion); Kerisha Hicks, Algebra Blessett, Laurnea Wilkerson, Terry Harrington, Bishop Paul S. Morton, Sr. (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Mike Tocci; Robert "Georgia Boy" Watson; F. Reid Shippen; Alvin Speights.
  • Recording information: Access Studios, Atlanta, GA; Blueman, Franklin, TN; D.A.R.P. Studios, Atlanta, GA; Drew's Groove, Nashville, TN; Electric Lady Studios, NY; Music Mill Studio, Nashville, TN; Wright Side Studio, Atlanta, GA.
  • Photographer: Norman Jean Roy.
  • Arranger: Musiq Soulchild.
  • Neo-soul diva India Aria gracefully ducks any fears of a sophomore jinx with VOYAGE TO INDIA. Her now-signature approach of up-front vocals and simple instrumental arrangements sparkles with organic sincerity. Opening prelude "Growth" reprises as an interlude with "Healing" and resolves as "Gratitude." VOYAGE TO INDIA shouldn't be misconstrued as a concept album, but there is clearly an underlying lyrical theme; the transcendence of love.
  • "Talk To Her" finds India offering men sound advice on giving women their due, while "Can I Walk With You" celebrates the joy of love and true friendship, defining the balance of a good relationship. "Complicated Melody" depicts a woman torn between the things about the man she loves that annoy her and those that move her. The standout narrative track "Good Man" leaves room for mystery (as to why this woman's husband is no longer in her life), without undermining resolve. VOYAGE TO INDIA is an elegant, very contemporary testimonial to feminine pride and empowerment.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (10/02, p.70) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Mellow, meditative songs - a collection of bright acoustic guitars, sumptuous bass lines, earthy midrange singing and lyrics that often have...deep emotions..."

Entertainment Weekly (9/27/02, p.84) - "...Compelling and agreeably upbeat....Arie keeps the music light and flowing..." - Rating: B

Mojo (Publisher) (11/02, p.114) - "...A deliciously subtle infusion of soul, folk, gospel and pop flavours...A richly rewarding album."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Voyage To India. Edition] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top