Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Wages [Digipak] *

Album: The Wages [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Born Bred Corn Fed
2)    Redbuds
3)    Clap Your Hands
4)    Sure Feels Like Rain
5)    Everything's Raising
6)    What Go Around Come Around
7)    Sugar Creek
8)    In a Holler Over There
9)    Train Song
10)    Lick Creek Road
11)    Ft. Wayne Zoo
12)    Just Getting By
13)    Two Bottles of Wine - (featuring Jason Webley)
14)    Miss Sarah
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Josh "Reverend" Peyton (vocals, harmonica); Aaron Persinger (drums, background vocals); Breezy Peyton (washboard, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Paul Mahern.
  • Recording information: Farm Fresh Studio, Bloomington, IN.
  • Photographer: Steve Wilson.
  • The Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band are actually a trio -- the Reverend Josh Peyton on primitive slide guitar, harmonica, and vocals; his wife, Breezy Peyton, on washboard and backing vocals; and Aaron "Cuz" Persinger on percussion (often buckets and trash cans) and background vocals -- but the sound is big indeed, a boozy, uncontained noise in which jug band, country, blues, and down-home boogie tumble around in a joyous, uplifting cacophony. There's no bass, but the bedrock rhythms are full and rounded with Peyton's slashing rhythm guitar work pushing the tunes into overdrive. "Just Getting By" is a thumping country blues and the lyrics are mostly the hook line repeated over and over, but Persinger's thumping bass drum and Peyton's propulsive slide guitar and devil-may-care vocal make the tune work. "What Go Around Come Around" scolds a local badass with a dose of sardonic humor as the Rev. sings "You can't help stupid, but you can help mean/Is acting bad a habit, is it part of your routine?" "Born Bred Corn Fed" celebrates redneck country living with Peyton's wild swooping slide guitar shooting off sparks, but several songs address the hard time most working people are facing. "Everything's Raising" is a timely protest song that sounds funny -- but the jokes have a bitter taste to them as the Rev. sings about bailouts and crooked lawmakers -- as is "In a Holler Over There," a country blues that Peyton sings in a warbling voice that calls to mind Dave Von Ronk at his crustiest. Peyton's original songs may sound like the laments you'd hear coming from a Depression-era 78, but they are all recent compositions, and in the new Depression of 2010 they couldn't be more timely. ~ j. poet
Professional Reviews
Alternative Press (p.108) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "White-lightning slide-guitar licks rage atop washboard clicks....They're the real deal."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Wages [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top