Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Walk On [2 Discs]

Album: Walk On
# Song Title   Time
1)    America the Beautiful
2)    Sunday
3)    Stella by Starlight
4)    Lined With a Groove
5)    Honeysuckle Rose
6)    Fried Pies
7)    You Are My Sunshine
8)    That's All
9)    Ray Brown Suite, Movement 1
10)    Ray Brown Suite, Movement 2
11)    Ray Brown Suite, Movement 3
12)    Hello Girls
1)    F.S.R. (For Sonny Rollins) - (previously unreleased, live)
2)    Stardust - (previously unreleased, live)
3)    Evidence - (previously unreleased, live)
4)    Woogie Boogie - (previously unreleased)
5)    In a Mellow Tone - (previously unreleased, live)
6)    Nearness of You, The - (previously unreleased)
7)    Much in Common - (previously unreleased, live)
8)    This Is Always - (previously unreleased, live)
9)    Three by Four - (previously unreleased, live)
10)    Down by the Riverside - (previously unreleased, live)
Product Details


1. America The Beautiful

2. Sunday

3. Stella By Starlight

4. Lined With A Groove

5. Honeysuckle Rose

6. Fried Pies

7. You Are My Sunshine

8. That's All

9. Ray Brown Suite (Movement I)

10. Movement II

11. Movement III

12. Hello Girls

13. F.S.R.

14. Stardust

15. Evidence

16. Woogie Boogie

17. In A Mellow Tone

18. The Nearness Of You

19. Much In Common

20. This Is Always

21. Three By Four

22. Down By The Riverside

Performer Notes
  • Disc 2 contains previously unreleased Ray Brown recordings.
  • Ray Brown Trio: Ray Brown (bass); Geoffrey Keezer (piano); Karriem Riggins
  • (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Monty Alexander, Benny Green (piano); John Clayton, Christian McBride (bass); Gregory Hutchinson, Lewis Nash (drums).
  • Personnel: Monty Alexander, Benny Green (piano); Gregory Hutchinson, Lewis Nash , Karriem Riggins (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: John Clayton.
  • Recording information: Avatar Studios, Studio A, New York, NYScullers Jazz Clu (11/21/1994-12/17/2000); Clinton Recording Studio, Studio A, New York, NY (11/21/1994-12/17/2000); DoubleTree Guest Suite Hotel, Boston, MA (11/21/1994-12/17/2000); The Blue Note, New York, NY (11/21/1994-12/17/2000).
  • Editor: Paul Blakemore.
  • What a curious, if delightful, package Walk On is. Comprised of two CDs -- the first is the final Ray Brown trio date from January 2000 with Geoffrey Keezer and Karriem Riggins, and the second is two separate live shows from 1994 and 1996 respectively -- the players range from Keezer to Monty Alexander and Bennie Green, bassists Josh Clayton and Christian McBride, and drummers Lewis Nash and Gregory Hutchinson. Disc one is pure Brown majesty as he and the band literally walk, very sprightly, through a series of classics such as "You Are My Sunshine," "Stella by Starlight," Wes Montgomery's "Fried Pies," and "Sunday." But more importantly, they showcase the delicate intricacy of Brown's own compositions on the three-part "Ray Brown Suite," the illustriously lush "Hello Girls" -- with a stunning interplay dialogue between Keezer and Brown -- and the funky "Lined With a Groove" that reveals the Horace Silver soul touch in its melodic line. Disc two is from gigs that showcase the different sides of Brown as a leader: the driven, intense improviser who found a groove and extrapolated upon it until it turned into something else, with Hutchinson and Green on "F.S.R." and "Stardust"; the loping strolling bassist who can drive a band with his easy, slippery phrasing, with Alexander and Nash on "Woogie Boogie"; and the dialogue artist concerned with dynamics and the intricacy of a melody's separate harmonic elements, with McBride, Keezer, and Clayton on "Down by the Riverside." In each case, Brown is the consummate listener, the very archetype of economic musical wisdom and a supreme lyricist in his phrasing. One of the most revealing things about this set is how Brown's true worth as a composer, bandleader, and improviser is not yet known and probably won't be for decades to come. But make no mistake; it will be. This may not be the finest of Brown's moments on record, but the recordings are fine, shining examples of his artistry, and they are, alas, the final examples. ~ Thom Jurek
Professional Reviews
CMJ (7/21/03, p.29) - "...It all adds up to a serious dose of Ray Brown, revealing that he could swing in any context and was quite funky when he wanted to be..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bass
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bebop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Walk On on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top