Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Walker Brothers And Scott Walker Collectio

New or Used: $8.00
Album: Walker Brothers And Scott Walker Collectio
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Any
2)    Joanna
3)    Stand by Me
4)    Annabella
5)    Love Her
6)    Here Comes the Night
7)    People Get Ready
8)    Lights of Cincinatti
9)    (Baby) You Don't Have To
10)    Jackie
11)    Land of 1000 Dances
12)    If I Promise
13)    Everything Under the Sun
14)    Archangel
15)    Living Above Your Head
16)    I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
17)    In My Room
18)    Stay With Me Baby
Product Details


1. The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Anymore

2. Joanna

3. Stand By Me

4. Annabella

5. Love Her

6. Here Comes The Night

7. People Get Ready

8. Light Of Cincinatti

9. (Baby) You Don't Have To Tell Me

10. Jackie

11. Land Of 1000 Dances

12. If I Promise

13. Everything Under The Sun

14. Archangel

15. Living Above Your Head

16. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight

17. In My Room

18. Stay With Me Baby

Performer Notes
  • This mid-priced Walker Brothers collection from England is one of the bigger bargains that one can find in their catalog, offering 18 songs by the group, Scott Walker, and John Walker, all in nearly the latest remasterings and with some decent annotation as well, courtesy of Mark Brennan. The material isn't in strict chronological order, jumping freely across the years 1965-1969, from the trio's roaring "Land of 1,000 Dances" and their larger-than-life productions of "Love Her" and "Here Comes the Night" up through Scott Walker's "Lights of Cincinnati." The range of material is bracing, from their lush, enveloping cover of "Stand By Me" to pop/rock ballads like "Annabella" (by John Walker). The biggest surprise is how well the trio does with Curtis Mayfield's "People Get Ready" -- there are some songs that, in one's heart, feel like they ought to be off-limits to white singers (Sam Cooke's "A Change Is Gonna Come" being the classic example), and it takes an astoundingly great and sincere performance to break that barrier; Southside Johnny's stage vamp on the Cooke song is one exception that proves the rule, and the Walker Brothers on the Mayfield song is another exception. "Lights of Cincinnati" is co-authored by British songwriting legend Tony Macaulay, but it sounds like a lost Jimmy Webb song and production, with Scott Walker coming down somewhere between Richard Harris and Glen Campbell in the interpretation department. ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Walker Brothers And Scott Walker Collectio on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top