Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
In Washington, D.C. Volume 1

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Tenor Sax

In Washington, D.C. Volume 1

Artist: Lester Young

Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Original Jazz Classics
Album: In Washington, D.C. Volume 1
# Song Title   Time
1)    A Foggy Day live in Washington, D.C. More Info... 5:27
2)    When You're Smiling live in Washington, D.C. More Info... 5:59
3)    I Can't Get Started live in Washington, D.C. More Info... 3:33
4)    Fast B-Flat Blues live in Washington, D.C. More Info... 5:51
5)    D. B. Blues live in Washington, D.C. More Info... 7:49
6)    Tea For Two live in Washington, D.C. More Info... 5:42
7)    Jeepers Creepers live in Washington, D.C. More Info... 6:14

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Bill Potts (piano); Norman Williams (bass); Jim Lucht (drums).
  • Recorded at Olivia Davis' Patio Lounge, Washington, D.C. on December 7, 1956. Includes liner notes by Bill Potts.
  • Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1987, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
  • Personnel: Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Bill Potts (piano); Jim Lucht (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Bill Potts.
  • Recording information: Olivia Davis's Patio Lounge, Washington DC (12/07/1956).
  • Photographer: Phil Stern.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Jim Lucht; Norman Williams; Bill Potts.
  • This CD documents a date Lester Young (also known as "Pres") played with the house band (Bill Potts Trio) at Olivia Davis's Patio Lounge in the District of Columbia. It would have been just another gig had pianist Bill Potts not lured Young into letting him record the music by buying him a bottle of Hennessy cognac. Fortunately, Young took the bait, for decades later we have a wonderful example of the tenor legend's exquisite abilities in his later period.
  • Many critics claim that Young's playing went steadily down hill after his tenure in the military (where he was the victim of fierce racism). However, Young displays a joie de vivre on this CD that is simply contagious. Made up of mostly standard tunes such as "I Can't Get Started," "Jeepers Creepers," "A Foggy Day," and others, Pres and company really shine. Perhaps the highlight of the set is the uptempo version of "Tea for Two" that showcases Young's cool tone and behind-the-beat phrasing even at a faster tempo. Drummer Jim Lucht also plays some very creative eight bar solo breaks on this song.

Format:CD (1 Disc); Mono
Studio/Live: Live
Release Date:4 September, 2006
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Roger on
This is the first of 5 CDs recorded at the end of 1956-which had been a good year for Prez, it was the year of "Jazz Giants' and "Prez and Teddy' albums and he is in pretty good form here, he swings nicely and doesn't rely too much on the same old licks.
The only problems really are the recording which is sort of medium-fi and the fact that Potts and the Trio are rather outclassed and maybe slightly backward looking for Lester at this time.
The playing time of 40:41 is on the skimpy side. This is an album for the completeist and real enthusiast rather than the person exploring the melodic genius of Lester Young for the first time.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling In Washington, D.C. Volume 1 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.