Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Watershed
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Dream of Spring
2)    Je Fais La Planche
3)    Coming Home
4)    Once in a While
5)    Thread
6)    Close Your Eyes
7)    Sunday
8)    Flame of the Uninspired
9)    Upstream
10)    Shadow and the Frame
11)    Jealous Dog
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: k.d. lang (vocals, guitar, banjo, harp, piano, keyboards, percussion, drum programming); Ben Mink (guitar, acoustic guitar); Greg Leisz (guitar, electric guitar, steel guitar); Teddy Borowiecki (guitar, piano, organ, keyboards, vibraphone, programming, drum programming); David Piltch (guitar, acoustic bass, electric bass, drums, percussion, programming, drum programming); Grecco Buratto, Bryan Sutton (guitar); Noam Pikelny (banjo); Jon Hassell (trumpet); Danny Frankel (drums, percussion); Lynne Earls (programming, drum programming).
  • Audio Mixer: David Leonard .
  • Recording information: Art Kitchen; Glenwood Studios; Jungle Room; The Hut.
  • Photographers: Glen Nakasako; Jeri Heiden; Teddy Borowiecki.
  • WATERSHED is the first album K.D. Lang has ever produced by herself, and as such, it sounds like a culmination of nearly every sound the Canadian singer-songwriter has ever explored in her career, save the manic rockabilly cowpunk of her debut album, 1987's ANGEL WITH A LARIAT. The lush, torchy feel of 1992's INGENUE and the jazzier direction of her later albums are the most obvious touchstones for the warmth and intimacy of WATERSHED, with the wistful opener "I Dream of Spring" and the cocktail lounge balladry of "Sunday" the most obvious standouts in that category.
  • Elsewhere, the country-tinged sway of the harmony-heavy "Flame of the Uninspired" and the semi-rustic banjo-led folk of "Jealous Dog" recall the sound of SHADOWLAND and ABSOLUTE TORCH AND TWANG, while the gentle Brazilian pulse of "Upstream" and the minimalist electronics of "Shadow and the Frame" point towards new areas of exploration. One of Lang's finest and most self-assured records, WATERSHED is an essential listen.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.82) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "WATERSHED is first-rate singer-songwriter music; Lang fuses the various styles she has tapped -- country, pop, Brazilian -- with an alluring integration."

Uncut (p.87) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] a voice that only grows richer, and some vividly minimal arrangements -- a subtle soundworld of sparse acoustics, steel guitars, electric piano and brooding clouds of strings."

JazzTimes (p.116) - "[T]he songwriting is uniformly superb....It is the sweet-flowing 'Coming Home,' with its Buddhist roots, carefree romantic satisfaction and softly powerful sense of hard-won enlightenment that is the Hope among these diamonds."

No Depression (p.67) - "A collection of languid, meditative, naturalistic ballads, it's the first album by Lang that she produced on her own, playing everything from guitar and keyboards to harp, banjo and drum programming....It's a handsome production, full of lovely touches."

Q (Magazine) (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A]n album lush and heady with romantic intoxication, even summoning up the ghost of Karen Carpenter on a sumptuous 'Once In A While'."

The Word (magazine) (p.95) - "The great value of WATERSHED, her new album, is in its combining of the psychological and the emotional....These are songs from both the head and the heart."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Watershed on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top