Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Way Out West!

Album: Way Out West!: Live from San Francisco 1973
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hillbilly Band
2)    Another Cruel Love
3)    Take the Highway
4)    Can't You See
5)    See You Later, I'm Gone
6)    Ramblin'
7)    Everyday (I Have the Blues)
8)    24 Hours at a Time
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Doug Gray (vocals); Toy Caldwell (guitar); Jerry Eubanks (flute); Paul Riddle (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Doug Gray.
  • Liner Note Author: Barry Alfonso.
  • Recording information: Winterland Ballroom. San Francisco, CA (1973).
  • With so many decades in the rear-view mirror since the Marshall Tucker Band became a part of the classic rock canon, it's easy to forget that they were once a raw, rough-and-tumble bunch of Southern rock upstarts sporting edge and expertise in equal amounts. This archival live document, finally unearthed 27 years after its recording, captures the band in its earliest, most unvarnished phase, playing at San Francisco's legendary Winterland just months after the release of its debut album. It also serves as a reminder that in the Southern rock scheme of things, the Marshall Tucker Band were more in line with the jazzier/funkier moments of the early Allman Brothers and Charlie Daniels than the greasy, bluesy grind of the Lynyrd Skynyrd school (though blues is still a major component of their sound here). Unsurprisingly, most of the first album's tunes are on the set list here, plus a couple that would turn up on the next, and a cover of Memphis Slim's "Everyday I Have the Blues." Things kick off with a concise blast of good-time country hoedown vibes on "Hillbilly Band," but in short order, "Another Cruel Love" lights out for territory not far removed from Van Morrison's early-`70s swinging R&B sound, and "Take the Highway" offers up a flute solo (stop and think about that; how many other Southern rockers had a featured flutist?) over a jammy jazz-funk workout. It's endearing to hear the iconic "Can't You See" introduced with the words "This is the single.hope you dig it," and the country-rock side of the band is given further play on the pedal steel-bedecked "See You Later, I'm Gone." The Marshall Tucker Band were not immune to the excesses of the era, as evinced by their 14-minute version of the aforementioned blues tune, essentially a Toy Caldwell guitar showcase, but by the time they close things out with "Ramblin'," a jumping, R&B-inflected tune complete with honking tenor sax solo, you're prepared to forgive them for the occasional overindulgence. ~ J. Allen
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Way Out West!: Live from San Francisco 1973 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top