SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

We Are Born

Album: We Are Born
# Song Title   Time
1)    Fight, The
2)    Clap Your Hands
3)    Stop Trying
4)    You've Changed
5)    Be Good to Me
6)    Bring Night
7)    Hurting Me Now
8)    Never Gonna Leave Me
9)    Cloud
10)    I'm in Here
11)    Co-Dependent, The
12)    Big Girl, Little Girl
13)    Oh Father
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • If Some People Have Real Problems, upon its 2008 release, felt like Sia's "pop move," its warmly personable brew of mellow coffee shop soul offering a more approachable contrast to the sober soundtrack-fodder chill-out with which she -- and in particular, her increasingly ubiquitous, jazzily innocuous voice -- had become near-synonymous, what can we make of We Are Born? With this, her fourth proper album, recorded for yet another new label (pop/hip-hop titan Jive), the Australian singer has made a massive pop leap: a sunshiny, highly caffeinated set of frothy dance tracks and feel-good lite-funk. And it's a great look. It's hard not to smile in agreement when she sings, in the tremendously hooky chorus to the irresistible, disco-fied first single (a revamped Lauren Flax collaboration): "You've changed... for the better!" As Sia tells it, it's less that she's changed than that she's finally made the album she'd been itching to make for years, the catalysts including her increased distance from the evidently dictatorial market forces of downtempo and her recent romantic linkage with DJ JD Sampson (Le Tigre, MEN). Unexpected though the shift may seem, it still feels like an entirely comfortable one, a liberating opportunity to revel in the natural exuberance she's always held in check. It's a treat, then, but hardly a surprise, to hear how well Sia works her ever-expressive pipes in full-on club-diva mode, as on the aforementioned single and the equally delightful "The Fight." She displays impressive vocal versatility throughout, cooing and crowing like vintage Gwen Stefani on the awesomely ska-punky "Bring Night"; drawing on her reserve stock of quavering Winehouse-isms for the blue-eyed R&B of "Be Good to Me"; getting throaty on the decidedly emo piano ballad "I'm in Here," which recalls any number of tortured '90s alt-rock songstresses (ditto her extravagant take on Madonna's "Oh Father.") Much as her vocal flexibility lets Sia navigate a considerable array of pop styles with nary a hitch, her solid songwriting chops find her fully satisfying the conventions of each form she tackles, albeit rarely transcending them. Meanwhile Greg Kurstin, by now a past master of breezy, contemporary, grown-up girl pop production, supplies a likable balance of gloss and glitter, with plenty of fun, playful touches (toy pianos, synthesized orchestra bells, kids voices.) While We Are Born occasionally lapses into the anodyne, overly tasteful pop-folk balladeering of Sia's past, overall it's a charmingly cheery, light-hearted romp looking nowhere but sweetly, sanguinely forward. ~ K. Ross Hoffman
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.84) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "'Bring Night' bops like an Eighties rave-up, and Sia finds the sweetness in Madonna's 'Oh Father,' brightening it into an airy, blippy closer."

Spin - "Produced by Lily Allen's mate Greg Kurstin, it's full of up-tempo electro-pop jams that sound like Amy Winehouse covering Toni Basil's 'Mickey.'"

Entertainment Weekly (p.72) - "[With] cut-a-shag-rug funk, finger-snappy soul, and even squiggly disco. It's party music with a heart." -- Grade: B+

Billboard (p.32) - "Her impressive vocal chops are heard over cheery pop-rock guitars on the song 'You've Changed,' and glittery synths lend a touch of electro to 'Cloud.'"

Pitchfork (Website) - "'Stop Trying' has the vocal chants, clap-driven rhythm, and cutesy keyboards of an Alphabeat song, and the chorus -- 'We like you' -- is insistent without being cloying."

Uncut (magazine) (p.120) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[S]tacked with drivetime anthems such as 'Big Girl Little Girl' and 'Bring The Night'."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling We Are Born on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top