How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Well [Digipak]

Album: The Well [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Well, The
2)    It's Raining
3)    Prairie Melancholy
4)    Too Late Love Comes
5)    La Luna Brilla
6)    Fool For the Look (In Your Eyes)
7)    Invitation To the Blues
8)    And So It Goes
9)    Panther, The
10)    You Don't Know Me
11)    Nightingale, The
12)    Patriot's Dream
13)    Well, The (Reprise)
14)    Show Me the Light
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Performers include: Jennifer Warnes (vocals, arranger); Suzie Katayama (conductor, cello); Doyle Bramhall (vocals, acoustic guitar, drums); Arlo Guthrie, Blondie Chaplin (vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar, mandolin); George Doering (electric guitar, mandolin); Rick Cunha (guitar); Greg Liesz (pedal steel guitar); Matt Cartsonis (mandolin); Joel Derouin, Michelle Richards (violin); Karie Prescott, Craig Eastman (viola); Larry Corbett, Daniel Smith (cello); Eric Rigler (whistle, bagpipes); Van Dyke Parks (accordion); Lee Thornburg (trumpet); Martin Davich (piano, harmonium, keyboards, synthesizer); Danny Freeman (piano); Abraham Laboriel (bass); Vinnie Colaiuta (drums); Lenny Castro (percussion).
  • Producers include: Martin Davich, Jennifer Warnes, Doyle Bramhall, Paul Dieter, David Campbell.
  • Engineers include: Mark Johnson, John Cevetello, Rick Cunha.
  • Audio Mixers: Elliot Scheiner; Frank Wolf; George Massenburg; Mark Cross .
  • Recording information: Andora, Los Angeles, CA; Capitol, Los Angeles, CA; Groovemasters, Los Angeles, CA; Rainbow Garage, Los Angeles, CA; Royaltone, Los Angeles, CA; Schnee Studio, Los Angeles, CA; Stardog Studios, Austin, TX.
  • Photographers: Steve Garrett; Bruce Dent; Muffett Dingilian.
  • Jennifer Warnes became a household name in the '70s with her hit "Right Time of the Night" and scored equally big with the Righteous Brothers' Bill Medley on "The Time of My Life" from the film Dirty Dancing. She also wowed critics and fans alike with Famous Blue Raincoat, her album of Leonard Cohen songs. In all, she's sold over 35 million records worldwide, but she's hardly a household name. Warnes has returned to the recording scene for the first time since 1992 with The Well, a collection ten songs co-produced with Martin Davich. And what a collection it is. As a singer and a songwriter, Warnes knows her strengths well. She understates lyrics and musical phrases as a way of getting them to open up on their own through her gorgeously wrought singing. She's no acrobat; she doesn't reach for the note that breaks the pitch-meter. Instead, she allows her voice to come up from the heart of the lyric she's singing. She wears the song and allows the song to adorn her as well, whether plaintively, as on the title track, one of her co-writes with Texas legend Doyle Bramhall, or her lilting, haunting, spiritual tome "Prairie Melancholy." When doing takes on the songs of others, such as Tom Waits' nugget "Invitation to the Blues," she imbues them with the soft, bluesy swing inherent in the original, but adds depth and dimension with her dry, reportorial storytelling (with fine guitar work from Doyle Bramhall). The songs on The Well seem spare and open, layered lightly, and full of room for Warnes' warm voice to reveal the wealth of emotions in the tunes themselves. But what's interesting is without it being noticeable to the listener, there are small but lush string sections, a few horns here and there, and a full-on four-piece rock band. Her reading of Billy Joel's "So It Goes" is virtually a reinvention of the song. She offers this song from a heart that has been cracked enough times, to paraphrase her friend Cohen, that it has been flooded with light. But it's the songs with Bramhall that are the masterpieces here; they reveal the subtle, bluesy textures of Texas and the strength in expressing one's vulnerability to forces one does not understand, such as on "The Panther." As if to underline the evidence, there is a vocal duet between them on Eddy Arnold's country swing gem "You Don't Know Me" that rivals Ray Charles' version for pure, expressive passion. With her stunning rendition of Arlo Guthrie's "Patriot's Dream," she is backed by a folk music symphony orchestra, with Guthrie himself lending a guest vocal as well as Blondie Chaplin and Kenny Edwards, with a Carmen accordion appearance by Van Dyke Parks. The set ends with a piano trio reprise of the title track that wraps all the magic up into a circle, as if these songs were a cycle of mystery, sensuality, and imagination from the very beginning. And, of course they were; Warnes isn't capable of anything less. Welcome back, Jennifer Warnes, you've been missed. ~ Thom Jurek
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Well [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top