SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

We're New Here [Digipak]

Album: We're New Here [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    I'm New Here
2)    Home
3)    I've Been Me (Interlude)
4)    Running
5)    My Cloud
6)    Certain Things (Interlude)
7)    Crutch, The
8)    Ur Soul and Mine
9)    Parents (Interlude)
10)    Piano Player
11)    NY Is Killing Me
12)    Jazz (Interlude)
13)    I'll Take Care of U
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Gil Scott-Heron (vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Lawson White; Rodaidh McDonald.
  • Audio Remixer: Jamie xx.
  • Photographer: Mischa Richter.
  • Gil Scott-Heron proved he still had it on 2010's I'm New Here, his first album in 16 years. Simultaneously, Jamie Smith (aka Jamie xx) established himself as a sonic architect on his band's moody, minimal debut, then as a producer remixing other artists and DJing in clubs across the U.K. This pair comes together on We're New Here, the remix of Scott-Heron's album. It is structured in similar fashion to its predecessor: 13 tracks with songs broken by four brief interludes; the set is rhythm-heavy and suffocatingly close, but not a track-for-track take. Richard Russell's production on I'm New Here kept Scott-Heron's voice front and center; Smith displaces it often, all but covering it with effects, beats, and pitched vocals in styles that cross the electronic music gamut from house to electro to dubstep. "I'm New Here" begins skeletally; Scott-Heron recites solo before a keyboard shimmers in. Gloria Gaynor's "Casanova Brown" in chipmunk pitch is sampled in just under a dread dub bassline and a skittering rhythm track with squiggly keyboard sounds before Scott-Heron counters -- it's delightfully unsettling. The strange, outer space sound library effects on "Home" accompany Scott-Heron singing "home is where the hatred is..." amid a clipped, heavily reverbed, and euphoric keyboard sample that repeats just over a drum loop; it adds gloss without altering the darkness. "Running" has his spoken poetry coming from just around the corner and through a tunnel. It's juxtaposed against a full-blown post-Dilla hip-hop rhythm. On "Ur Soul and Mine," a house rhythm leads the charge and Scott-Heron's vocal moves right into a blanket of synths. "The Crutch," with its layers of high-pitched, blissed-out female backing vocals atop frenetic drum'n'bass, is a rhythm collision. In "My Cloud," with its lilting tempo and slippery bass drum, a shimmering bassline and watery Rhodes piano provide the backing for the sweetest soul vocal Scott-Heron has ever cut. Smith even evokes the sound of his own band in the closer, "I'll Take Care of U," with his sparse guitar line, as pianos and basslines pulse under sets of squelchy synth chords. We're New Here is a mercurial collaboration; it's full of nods to other club styles and eras, but Smith's expansive direction is his own. He accomplishes a difficult task in successfully (re)presenting Scott-Heron's music -- integrity intact -- in the present tense to a fickle yet discerning groove-centric culture without kitsch or excess. ~ Thom Jurek
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.84) - "[S]trength meets strength on his unusual album-length remix, as Smith's skittering beats and ghostly soul divas put Scott-Heron right where he belongs: in the future."

Entertainment Weekly (p.82) - "Scott-Heron's raspy vocals anchor Smith's spectral diddlings; the results are pleasantly moody." -- Grade: B+

The Wire - "It's always ready to open into a subsonic abyss of dub bass, and Scott-Heron's words become more impressionistic....[The album] reaps great dividends."

Q (Magazine) (p.104) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The most extraordinary combination is 'I'll TAke Care Of U,' on which Scott-Heron makes ragged-throated promises while a guitar traces sad, spindly lines over rave-era piano."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[F]or the concept, execution and a clearer definition of the protagonists, it can't be faulted."

Uncut (magazine) (p.95) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "If I'M NEW HERE was a triumph for Russell and Scott-Heron, WE'RE NEW HERE reveals a maverick production talent in Jamie Smith..."

Uncut (magazine) (p.32) - Ranked #32 in Uncut's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "An unlikely and vibrant epitaph for the ever-unpredictable Heron, who died soon after its release."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling We're New Here [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top