How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Album: Western Culture
# Song Title   Time
1)    Industry
2)    Decay of Cities, The
3)    On the Raft
4)    Falling Away
5)    Gretel's Tale
6)    Look Back
7)    Half the Sky
8)    Viva Pa Ubu
9)    Look Back - (alternate take)
10)    Slice
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Henry Cow: Fred Frith (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, soprano saxophone, bass guitar); Tim Hodgkinson (Hawaiian steel guitar, clarinet, alto saxophone, organ); Lindsay Cooper (soprano recorder, oboe, bassoon, soprano saxophone); Chris Cutler (trumpet, piano, drums, electronic percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Anne Marie Roelofs (violin, trombone); Ir┼áne Schweizer (piano); Georgie Born (bass guitar).
  • After the collapse of the expanded version of Henry Cow (IN PRAISE OF LEARNING), the band regrouped as a quartet and made this final album. WESTERN CULTURE is the group's most composed work. Each side of the original album release was arranged as a suite, one composed by organ and reed player Tim Hodgkinson, the other by bassoon and oboe player Lindsay Cooper. On this album, Henry Cow clearly sounds like a true avant-garde chamber ensemble. WESTERN CULTURE, while their last effort, was a culmination for Henry Cow.
Professional Reviews
The Wire (p.47) - "The increasing complexity of the compositions is noticeable both on the surface of the information-overload orchestration and in the intricately interwoven structures."

The Wire (2/02, p.62) - "...Listen to this album and you'll discover Zappa, The Magic Band, Stravinsky, Weill and free jazz bubbling away in the alembic, but the glowing residue is distinctively Henry Cow, assured in its golas and practices..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top