Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

When the Kite String Pops [Remaster] [Parental Advisory]

Album: When the Kite String Pops [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Blue, The
2)    Tranquilized
3)    Cheap Vodka
4)    Finger Paintings of the Insane
5)    Jezebel
6)    Scream of the Butterfly
7)    Dr. Seuss Is Dead
8)    Dope Fiend
9)    Toubabo Koomi
10)    God Machine
11)    Morticians Flame
12)    What Color Is Death
13)    Bones of Baby Dolls
14)    Cassie Eats Cockaroaches
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Acid Bath: Daxx Riggs (vocals); Mike Sanchez (guitar, tambourine); Sammy Duet (guitar, background vocals); Audie Pitre (bass, background vocals); Jimmy Kyle (drums).
  • Personnel: Dax Riggs (vocals); Sammy Duet, Mike Sanchez (guitar, background vocals); Jimmy Kyle (drums); Audie Pitre (background vocals).
  • Recording information: Side One, Metairie, LA, CA.
  • Photographer: Mike Wasco.
  • Acid Bath's debut is a malicious and sometimes downright disturbing album that defies easy categorization. They stitch together elements of death metal, '70s hard rock, thrashing hardcore punk and Black Sabbath-esque sludge into multi-sectioned songs that are both intricate and often surprisingly melodic. The production, especially the compressed drums and often-processed vocals, adds an industrial feel that increases the album's menacing vibe. "The Blue" kicks things off with a bluesy swamp metal riff before smoothly winding its way through a maze of tempo and riff change-ups, while the closer, "Cassie Eats Cockroaches," weaves spoken word samples and screaming vocals in and out of complex, Southern-flavored death metal riffing and precision double-bass drumming. Elsewhere, the songs range from full-on assaults ("Cheap Vodka" and "Toubabo Koomi") to creepy ballads, namely the goth-tinged "Scream of the Butterfly" and the largely acoustic "The Bones of Baby Dolls." Vocalist Dax Riggs handles this diverse material well, switching between distorted screams and a melodic croon reminiscent of Jim Morrison or Glen Danzig. His not-for-the-squeamish lyrics address such topics as drug abuse, rape, abortion, death, and self-loathing, but for the most part do so in an artful, vividly poetic manner. While it would have been stronger if a few of the weaker songs had been left off, When the Kite String Pops is still an excellent, diverse metal album that remains unlike much else, even years after it release. ~ William York
Professional Reviews
NME (Magazine) (9/17/94, p.57) - 7 - Very Good - "...Never to be accused of wallowing in positivity, Acid Bath snarl out some low post-Melvins numbers..."
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling When the Kite String Pops [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top