Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Wilco (The Album) *

Album: Wilco (The Album) *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Wilco (The Song)
2)    Deeper Down
3)    One Wing
4)    Bull Black Nova
5)    You and I
6)    You Never Know
7)    Country Disappeared
8)    Solitaire
9)    I'll Fight
10)    Sonny Feeling
11)    Everlasting Everything
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Leslie Feist (vocals); Nels Cline (guitar); Max Crawford (trumpet).
  • Audio Mixers: Jim Scott ; Kevin Dean .
  • Audio Remasterer: Bob Ludwig.
  • Recording information: Roundhead Studios, Auckland, New Zealand; The Loft, Chicago, IL.
  • Photographer: Autumn de Wilde.
  • Though many fans suspected that Wilco's self-titled seventh studio album would mark a return to the wild cut-and-paste experimentalism of YANKEE FOXTROT HOTEL, the record was in fact more of a piece with its traditional-sounding 2007 predecessor, SKY BLUE SKY. Heavily influenced by `60s and `70s pop music, songs like "Sunny Feeling" and "You Never Know" sounded as if the band might have been finally attempting to score the elusive hit single.
  • Beginning with a powerful riff reminiscent of the Kinks' "Picture Book," the disc is all strummy guitars, tinkling keyboards, big choruses, George Harrison-style slide guitar, and stacked harmony vocals, conjuring aural images of bands such as Love, Wings, and Badfinger. Throughout, the songwriting is tight and focused, making WILCO one of the most instantly accessible albums in the Chicago-based group's catalog.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.80) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] triumph of determined simplicitiy....What is most striking about the restraint here is the elegance and defiance packed inside."

Spin (p.79) - "WILCO, the band's seventh studio effort, treats verse-chorus-verse basics like holy truths....And it's fantastic."

Spin (p.28) - Ranked #39 in Spin's "40 Best Albums Of 2009" -- "Wilco now chart a compelling middle course that makes thorny sentiments go down deceptively easy."

Alternative Press (p.115) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Wilco continue to reign in their experimental fuzz, focusing more on pretty melodies, upbeat toe-tappers and sweet acoustic numbers for their seventh full-length."

Dirty Linen (p.57) - "There's a lucidity to the sound and a sense of mix-and-match variety that haven't been heard since YANKEE HOTEL FOXTROT..."

Billboard (p.34) - "Windows-down anthemic pop like 'You Never Know' sits alongside the tense, textural rocker 'One Wing' and the dark, pulsating murder-escape drama 'Bull Black Nova.'"

Paste (magazine) (p.54) - "The album is full of thoughtful, artfully crafted lyrics wrapped in memorable hooks that should stand the test of time."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.98) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "'Bull Black Nova,' something of a 'Spiders' retooling, is pleasingly motorik..."

Uncut (magazine) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "'Wilco (the song)' and 'Sonny Feeling' have that punchy mix of Big Star powerpop, faint Stones raunch and rock classicism..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Wilco (The Album) * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top