SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Wild Is The Wind [Originals]

Album: Wild Is The Wind [Originals]
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Love Your Lovin' Ways Album Version More Info... 2:38
2)    Four Women Album Version More Info... 4:29
3)    What More Can I Say? Album Version More Info... 2:53
4)    Lilac Wine Album Version More Info... 4:18
5)    That's All I Ask Album Version More Info... 2:31
6)    Break Down And Let It All Out Album Version More Info... 2:41
7)    Why Keep On Breaking My Heart Album Version More Info... 2:39
8)    Wild Is The Wind Live In New York/1964 More Info... 7:00
9)    Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair Live In New York/1964 More Info... 3:28
10)    If I Should Lose You Album Version More Info... 4:00
11)    Either Way I Lose Album Version More Info... 2:49
Product Details


1. I Love Your Lovin' Ways

2. Four Women

3. What More Can I Say

4. Lilac Wine

5. That's All I Ask

6. Break Down And Let It All Out

7. Why Keep On Breaking My Heart

8. Wild Is The Wind

9. Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair

10. If I Should Lose You

11. Either Way I Lose

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Nina Simone (vocals, piano); Rudy Stevenson (guitar, flute); Lisle Atkinson (upright bass); Bobby Hamilton (drums); Horace Ott & His Orchestra.
  • This album was apparently a bit of a pastiche of leftovers from sessions for Nina Simone's four previous albums on Philips. But you'd never guess from listening; the material is certainly as strong and consistent as it is on her other mid-'60s LPs. As is the case with most of her albums of the time, the selections are almost unnervingly diverse, ranging from jazz ballads to traditional folk tunes ("Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair") to the near calypso of "Why Keep on Breaking My Heart" to the somber, almost chilling title track. Highlights are two outstanding pop-soul numbers written by the pre-disco Van McCoy ("Either Way I Lose," "Break Down and Let It All Out") and "Four Women," a string of searing vignettes about the hardships of four African-American women that ranks as one of Simone's finest compositions. ~ Richie Unterberger
Professional Reviews
No Depression (p.113) - "WILD IS THE WIND is simply transfixing, in part for a sequencing that alternates between orchestral flashed and the subtle groove of her regular combo..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Wild Is The Wind [Originals] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top