Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Winchester Cathedral

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Winchester Cathedral
# Song Title   Time
1)    Winchester Cathedral
2)    Diana Goodbye
3)    14 Lovely Women
4)    Green Street Green
5)    That's All for Now Sugar Baby
6)    Shirl
7)    Holiday Inn
8)    Sadie Moonshine
9)    Tap Your Feet (And Go Bo-De-Do-De-Do)
10)    Amy
11)    Peek-A-Boo
12)    Rosie
13)    I Was Lord Kitchener's Valet
14)    Finchley Central
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The New Vaudeville Band includes: Geoff Stephens.
  • Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
  • Personnel: Alan Klein (vocals); Mick Wilsher (guitar); Hugh "Shuggy" Watts (trombone); Stan Heywood (keyboards).
  • Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
  • Collectables has compiled an adequate collection of songs by this novelty vaudeville jazz outfit that surfaced for a short chart run in the mid-'60s. Although limited in range and at times far too obvious, at their best the New Vaudeville Band delivered a whimsical, sometimes clever take on original and imitation tunes of the 1920s and 1930s. Their hits are here (including the title track, its witty clone "Finchley Central," and the catchy "Peek-a-Boo," along with some of the better album tracks) -- as well as some real clunkers. The hits are the best songs here, and the uptempo ukulele-led "Sadie Moonshine" and playfully risqu‚ "That's All for Now Sugar Baby" add some depth to the collection. Fans would have been better served if more tuneful and humorous album tracks had been selected rather than the unfortunate "14 Lovely Women" or the tepid likes of "Holiday Inn" and "Green Street Green" (both performed better on Herman's Hermits albums, incidentally). Another flaw is the lack of recording information and even songwriting credits in the liner notes. Still, this is more than enough New Vaudeville Band for most people, while devoted fans and the curious will be rewarded by supplementing these compact disc versions with the albums in order to get a more flavorful taste of this often entertaining group. ~ Stephen Constantelos
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Easy Listening » Oldies » '60s
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Winchester Cathedral on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top