Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

The Wonderful World of Jazz/Evolution [Remaster]

Album: The Wonderful World of Jazz/Evolution [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Body and Soul
2)    I Should Care
3)    Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West
4)    Afternoon in Paris
5)    I Remember Clifford
1)    Sweet Georgia Brown
2)    September Song
3)    Afternoon in Paris
4)    Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West
5)    I'll Remember April
6)    Django
7)    Willow Weep for Me
8)    Cherokee
9)    For Ellington
10)    Don't Blame Me
11)    At the Horse Show
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: John Lewis (piano); Eric Dolphy (saxophone, alto saxophone); Paul Gonsalves, Benny Golson (saxophone, tenor saxophone); James Rivers (baritone saxophone); Herb Pomeroy (trumpet); Gunther Schuller (French horn); John Richard Lewis (piano); Connie Kay (drums); Jim Hall (guitar).
  • Liner Note Author: Ralph J. Gleason.
  • Recording information: Music Hall, Tarrytown, NY (01/12/1999-01/15/1999).
  • Photographers: Will Mosgrove; Scott Peterman.
  • Arranger: John Richard Lewis.
  • Collectables presents a surprisingly logical double reissue of two great Atlantic albums by pianist, composer, arranger and bandleader John Lewis. The Wonderful World of Jazz was originally released in 1960; Evolution (the first of two by that title) came out in 1999. These albums complement each other quite well; much better in fact than some other Collectables two-fers. The music recorded in July and September 1960 involved Lewis' quartet (Jim Hall, George Duvivier and Connie Kay) and two different teams of wind players: Herb Pomeroy, Gunther Schuller, Eric Dolphy, Paul Gonsalves, Benny Golson and a baritone saxophonist identified here -- probably for contractual reasons -- as "James Rivers." This is known to have been Jimmy Giuffre rather than New Orleans-based R&B saxophonist Jim Rivers. Each selection on Wonderful is remarkably accessible and fine. A fifteen-and-a-half minute version of "Body and Soul" (the track list on the back cover says five-and-a-half) is exquisite. "Evolution" is a solo piano recital recorded at Tarrytown Music Hall in Tarrytown, NY during January of 1999. Two of the titles are visitations, as it were, from the album issued 39 years earlier. The elderly pianist puts 11 melodies through his unique and personal set of variations, which appear to be taking place in the sky overhead, independent from conventional notions of pace and timing. The best imaginable example of this curious methodology is his pleasantly eccentric approach to "Sweet Georgia Brown." Other marvelous moments occur during a refreshing rendition of "Cherokee" and a moving paean "For Ellington." ~ arwulf arwulf
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Wonderful World of Jazz/Evolution [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top